Talk:Alquerque

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
WikiProject Board and table games (Rated Start-class, Low-importance)
WikiProject icon This article is part of WikiProject Board and table games, an attempt to better organize information in articles related to board games and tabletop games. If you would like to participate, you can edit the article attached to this page, or visit the project page, where you can join the project and/or contribute to the discussion.
Start-Class article Start  This article has been rated as Start-Class on the quality scale.
 Low  This article has been rated as Low-importance on the importance scale.
 

Untitled[edit]

I want to know what others think about the "Bell" rules, I've read through them but I don't really see why they need to exist. However I've included them for completeness.

The first "A piece cannot move backwards" along with the third "Once a piece has reached the final line it can only move while capturing opponent pieces.", would seem to be a rule that just results in stalemates with most pieces ending up stuck.

The second "No piece can return to a point where it has been before" just seems impractical, having to remember all of the previous moves, I wonder if Bell actually meant that you can't return to the position that you just came from.

Also the second way of winning, "None of the opponents pieces are able to move", I've tried playign with Alfonso rules and it seems to me that with the original rules a draw is impossible, I can see no situation where it could occur.

-- Imran Ghory


The rules given in this article are extremely vague and incomplete. Most importantly (in my opinion) it does not state what happens when a player is faced with a position in which two (or more) pieces can make a capture:

  • Do both (or all) of these pieces make a capture, thus making several moves in one turn?
  • Does the player get to choose which one of the pieces should make the capture, while the other gets huffed?
  • Does the player get to choose which one of the pieces should make the capture, and the other one stays?

Timwi 16:59, 14 May 2004 (UTC)

Merels, not alquerque[edit]

The articles stated: The oldest known board is unfinished and was carved into the roof of the temple at Qurna, Egypt, built around 1400 BC. Friedrich Berger has argued that some of the diagrams at Qurna "cannot be dated" because Coptic crosses, used in the 1st century, are also carved there.[1].

However, as Berger points out, these were merels boards, not those for alquerque. -- Zz (talk) 14:39, 20 August 2008 (UTC)

  1. ^ Berger, Friedrich (2004). "From circle and square to the image of the world: a possible interpretation for some petroglyphs of merels boards" (PDF). Rock Art Research 21 (1): pp. 11–25. Retrieved 2007-01-12.