User:Paulrach

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Short Bio  ::: >>>>>>>>>>>Click 'show' to expand >>

I was raised in Middlesbrough in the North East of the UK, and moved to Sheffield to go to University in 1990, and have been in South Yorkshire since. I have a B.Sc. in Applied Chemistry and then a Ph.D. in Environmental Chemistry. After working in the water industry for a while I took up a research post at the University of Sheffield. Working in both the Chemistry department and the Department of Chemical and Process Engineering, publishing several journal articles. During this time I worked in the fields of both organic and inorganic analysis, particularly PCDD/F and heavy metals. While studying and working at the University, I got to travel to events in the USA, South Korea, Hungary, Germany and Belgium (Supping Hoegartten in the Grand Place at midnight on a balmy summers day is highly recommended.), as well as less exotic places like Leicester, Sunderland and Hull.

After a missions trip to Colombia, and various other challenging prods, I gave up my job and went back to University to train as a Science teacher. Having officially qualified with a PGCE in August 2007, I started teaching at a school in Sheffield in September '07, and is very tired but equally very satisfied. (Especially now the pay cheques have started arriving again.)

I am married to Rachel and they have two children, Leigh and Joshua, and live in Rotherham. They are members of Rotherham New Life Christian Centre.

Userboxes  ::: >>>>>>>>>>>Click 'show' to expand >>

Wikipedia

Christian cross.svg This user is a member of
WikiProject Christianity.
Yorkshire Rose This user is a member of WikiProject Yorkshire.
WikiProject History of Science This user is a member of the History of Science WikiProject.
Science-symbol-2.svg This user is a member of
WikiProject Science.




Education

BSc This user has a Bachelor of Science degree.
PhD This user has a Doctor of Philosophy degree.
ACADEMIC JOURNAL This user has had his/her work published in an academic journal.



Beliefs

This user is a Christian.
Dome 1.jpg This user believes in the separation of church and state. ReligionSymbolAbr.PNG
A coloured voting box.svg This user believes it is every citizen's duty to vote.
No-EU.png This user trusts the EU about as far as they can throw it.



Personal

Noia 64 apps karm.svg This user has been on Wikipedia for some time.
Nuvola apps edu science.svg This user has a keen interest in learning about Chemistry.
EB This user uses Encyclopædia Britannica along with Wikipedia.
Gutenberg Bible.jpg This user is interested in the Bible.



Praising-hands.svg This user is interested in religion.
Dad This user is a father and proud of it!
Nuvola apps edu miscellaneous.png This user teaches at a secondary school.
PRTLogo.png This user is from the People's Republic of Teesside



Yorkshire rose.svg This user lives in Yorkshire.
UTC This user's time zone is UTC.
BlankMap-World6.svg
4
This user has set foot in 4 continents of the world.
Flag-map of the United States.svg This user has visited 4 of the 50 United States. 4


Asahiflex600.jpg This user enjoys photography.
Books of the Past.jpg
This user enjoys reading almost anything
White house south.jpg This user is a fan of
The West Wing.
Firefox This user contributes using Mozilla Firefox.


w/l This user has a dual boot configuration.
F icon.svg
This user maintains a Facebook profile.
Caffeine.svg This user believes that caffeine is necessary in large doses daily.
Dinnermealicon.JPG This user is an omnivore.


No smoking symbol.svg This user does not appreciate tobacco smoke.
Cannabis prohibited sign This user is drug-free.
en-gb
-N
This user is a native speaker of British English.
STS-107 Flight Insignia.svg This user remembers STS-107. May the crew rest in peace.


Interests  ::: >>>>>>>>>>>Click 'show' to expand >>

I have a wide range of interests but on Wikipedia I am focussing on Sciences, Christianity and related topics, especially making sure balanced opinions are given, and that the quality of articles is improved. I also edit article on places I have been and where I live, though I occasionally will just edit random articles.

Travels  ::: >>>>>>>>>>>Click 'show' to expand >>

Places I've been to...[edit]

United Kingdom
Flag of England.svgFlag of Wales.svgFlag of Scotland.svgFlag of Ireland.svg

Americas
Flag of the United States.svgFlag of Colombia.svg

Europe
Flag of France.svgFlag of Germany.svgFlag of Belgium.svgFlag of the Netherlands.svgFlag of Hungary.svgFlag of the Czech Republic.svgFlag of Malta.svgFlag of Norway.svgFlag of Switzerland.svgFlag of Austria.svgFlag of Luxembourg.svgFlag of Liechtenstein.svg

Asia
Flag of South Korea.svg

Places I've been through...[edit]

Flag of Spain.svg Flag of Slovakia.svg

Idea and layout pinched from User:Davidkinnen who took it from User:Calton who borrowed it from User:Salsb, who stole it from User:Guettarda who borrowed it from User:Coolcat