Wikipedia:Peer review/December 2004

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

This page contains the Peer review requests that are older than one month, are not signed, or did not follow the "How to use this page" principles in some way. If one of your requests has been moved here by mistake, please accept our apologies and copy it back to the main Peer review page with your signature (~~~~).

For the other archives, see Wikipedia:Peer review#Archive_links.

The most recent topics appear on top.


The Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap

Considering the other Legend of Zelda articles about the games conform to a certain standard, I'm submitting that one here to see what experts think. I wrote about 95% of the article today. Any criticism and suggestions welcome. Phils 18:54, 31 Dec 2004 (UTC)

  • Phils, where are you getting your information from? We really need a references section. - Ta bu shi da yu 03:18, 25 Jan 2005 (UTC)

Richard Blumenthal

I started this early in my edits on Wikipedia. I'm no expert on his, but how do we fix this up? - Ta bu shi da yu 18:20, 31 Dec 2004 (UTC)

  • Try expanding the lead section so it summarizes the article. Also, I would like to see more included on his private life. Mgm|(talk) 12:43, Jan 3, 2005 (UTC)
    • The problem is that the stuff I've covered only covers a very small amount of his career! - Ta bu shi da yu 06:31, 24 Jan 2005 (UTC)

French phonology and orthography

Moved a section to this article and overhauled it. I'd appreciate comments and constructive criticism. --Circeus 16:10, 31 Dec 2004 (UTC)

The information is great (especially the Vowel part), but the arrangement could be improved.

  • It would be nice to be able to see at a glance which vowels are most common (or occur in all dialects) and which ones are more exceptional. Also, an arrangement like the IPA vowel table helps greatly to get an impression of the vowel system of a language. The current table should be kept, I think, but maybe another one (or two, separating oral and nasal V's) could be added, cf. Nafaanra_language#Vowels (which is of course a much simpler vowel system).
  • Some visual distinction between oral and nasal vowels would clear things up as well.
  • I would join the approximant row with the other consonants, and move all footnotes to below the table.
  • I'm missing information about the distribution of phonemes (except for some notes on allophony), particularly in the Consonants section. Do all phonemes occur freely in every position? What consonant clusters are allowed? Etc.
  • What role does nasalization play — what is its relation to nasal consonants?

mark 18:06, 8 Jan 2005 (UTC)

  • "French phonology is a difficult subject further complicated by the diversity of dialects. This article aims at displaying a complete overview of French normal and possible phonemes and their most common allophones." - I'm concerned about this lead section. Firstly, I think that a very brief overview of what phonology is would be nice, as articles should be relatively complete in their own right (something I have to resolve for my Architecture of Btrieve article). Also, information should not talk about "this article", as it shouldn't refer to itself. - Ta bu shi da yu 23:38, 24 Jan 2005 (UTC)

Brooke Hart

I wrote it a few days ago, and am just looking for some comments on ways the article can be improved. Gentgeen 00:56, 31 Dec 2004 (UTC)

I read that and liked it. Could we get an image? - Ta bu shi da yu 06:30, 21 Jan 2005 (UTC)

Krag-Jørgensen

I did a total rewrite on this a month ago, and think I did a fairly decent job - and I think the others who have helped afterwards have too. Still, I would like to bring it up to the standard of a Featured Atricle - so all the attention you could give it would be good I think. Perhaps someone could find some non-copyrighted images to place in the article as well, all the images I've found so far has been copyrighted and my attemts to contact the owners has not meet with success. Some more info on the danish and american patterns would be good as well, and perhaps a few words on it's use in the Werhmacht during WWII if someone knows anything. WegianWarrior 07:50, 9 Sep 2004 (UTC)

I'll try again.. a lot of things have been added to the article since last I asked for a peer review, and in my eyes it's about ready to suggest as a FAC. However, I do want it to be as great as I can make it - so I relist it here for whatever input people can give me. WegianWarrior 10:03, 24 Jan 2005 (UTC)

Municipality of Strathfield and History of the Strathfield area

Any hints on what else I should add to the main article would be appreciated. In the history section, what do you think needs to be fixed on that? - Ta bu shi da yu 15:00, 29 Dec 2004 (UTC)

Intro for the history article needs tweaking; and the Corruption section there is current, and should be in the main article (maybe under Politics). For the main, maybe there's more to be said about its culture, economy, or any particular significance? Rd232 18:05, 1 Jan 2005 (UTC)
Have added info on the culture, added stuff on the corruption in a Politics section. Not sure what to do with the Economy bit. The history article I'll tweak soon. - Ta bu shi da yu 06:28, 21 Jan 2005 (UTC)

Neville Chamberlain

I've contributed quite a lot of this article in most areas (bar his European policy) but am concerned the article is rather single authored in places. Also it's a bit long and could use a bit of condensing. Timrollpickering 15:55, 28 Dec 2004 (UTC)

  • The lead section could do with some expansion. - Ta bu shi da yu 01:57, 24 Jan 2005 (UTC)
  • "European Policy" seems to be editorialising. Can we cut this back a bit? Apart from this, this is a great article, very informative and the length is just right :-) Ta bu shi da yu 06:00, 24 Jan 2005 (UTC)

Auto Train (Amtrak)

This article was a fac several months ago, but was rejected while we were still working on it (part of WikiProject Trains) before all comments/objections could be addressed. As one of the contributors, I feel it would benefit from WP-PR before resubmission as fac. This article should have broad appeal to WP readers, including young people and families and may offer an educational opening of a reader's interest into other WikiProject Trains articles. From what I can see, with the exception of William N. Page (which is about one of the founders of the Virginian Railway), we have never had a featured article about Trains (yet). All help would be appreciated. Thanks. Vaoverland 01:43, Dec 28, 2004 (UTC)

Is there a general article about auto trains? These things are hardly limited to the US. If there is, it should be linked; if not, it should be created, even as a stub to resolve the question of what it would be called. Also, I think the intro is too long; I'd just have the first para above the TOC. Paragraphs are a bit short - feels bitty. Too many pictures - remove some; maybe try left-aligning some to disperse among the text. Finally, why is it in the "Defunct railroad companies" category? It's still running isn't it? Rd232 20:06, 29 Dec 2004 (UTC)
Auto Train is an Amtrak service. Auto-Train Corporation, now defunct, originally but the idea into motion. This article should not be in defunct railroad companies category. As far as the principal writers know, it is a unique service in the U.S. and perhaps anywhere else. Amtrak's Auto Train service apparently works economically due to these factors:
  • 1. There is a sufficient volume of customers.
  • 2. The customers are willing to accept a single departure and a single destination point.
  • 3. The customers willing to pay a premium price in order to avoid driving and have the use of their own car at destination.
  • 4. The customers do not choose to travel via commercial airliner despite lower costs and travel times offered.
Thanks for the review and tips. Vaoverland 18:09, Dec 30, 2004 (UTC)
It's not unique. I have friends who've used such a service in Germany (though now defunct I think); I'm fairly sure it still exists in France. Certainly the Eurostar service (UK-France) has it. Rd232 11:08, 31 Dec 2004 (UTC)
The guaranteed objection it would get at FAC is that it has no references. Print references would be ideal, see what your library has. Reliable online sources that you have used for information could be formatted as a reference as per the guidelines at Wikipedia:Cite sources. 2. I think the lead section is the right length, as they are generally recommended to be 2-3 paragraphs. 3. The flow of the text is generally choppy as there are too many very short paragraphs. Either expand them into full paragraphs on their own or merge them with others. - Taxman 19:51, Dec 30, 2004 (UTC)

Actually, auto trains through the Channel Tunnel are run by the tunnel company itself and have special terminals at either end of the tunnel (Eurostar is the name of the passenger trains London/Paris or Brussels, a separate company). There are others like it in Europe, mainly Switzerland, all of which are different (rather more links in motorways) from the long-distance auto trains the article is about. Maybe "car carriers" could have a separate section in the article. There is a useful article to be written here but perhaps Amtrak's Auto Train isn't the right hook to hang it on (as a survivor, it ought to be in there, of course). There are still large numbers of these in Europe (although only one in England) and always have been -- summary listings in the Thomas Cook European Timetable. Are there any in Japan or India, I wonder? (given the state of the latter's roads, I'd have thought there would be a good market for them). Australia & South Africa may also have them. Canada? - LennieStar 20:21, Jan 1, 2005 (UTC)

The name of the article has been changed to more accurately reflect a focus on Amtrak's current Auto Train route and service amd the history preceeding it. I do not know enough about the other similar services on other continents to write a section about them to include in this article. Vaoverland 02:28, Jan 5, 2005 (UTC)

Silvio Berlusconi

This article was much criticised before, with even Jimbo Wales coming in to comment negatively. The article had a NPOV dispute tag for some time. Now it has been improved coniderably and stabilised. It needs fact checking; location of specific sources, language verification etc. The section Legal investigations of Berlusconi could especially do with some work. Your comments and/or help appreciated. Azikala 23:21, 27 Dec 2004 (UTC)

  • I'm going to give this section on the Legal investigations of Berlusconi a month to be improved, then if no sources can be given I'm removing the disputed passages. - Ta bu shi da yu 01:52, 24 Jan 2005 (UTC)

Propaganda model

One-sided article that presents a theory in an uncritical or supportive light. 119 19:45, 25 Dec 2004 (UTC)

I think that it presents the theory fairly clearly and it's well structured. Adding a little graphic that shows at a glance how the model works would be the cherry on top. MikeCapone 22:47, 30 Dec 2004 (UTC)

"In an industrialized economy where consumers demand information about multiple global events, this task can only be filled by the corporate sector which has the necessary material resources. This includes mainly The Pentagon and other governmental bodies." I don't understand. If only corporations have the resources to handle this sort of stuff, why does that then include the Pentagon and govt bodies? They aren't corporations. Well, most of them anyway. - Ta bu shi da yu 06:16, 21 Jan 2005 (UTC)

Formally speaking, the Pentagon and govt bodies are not corporations. However, if you look at individuals' careers, you'll see that the top managers/politicians/bureaucrats often transfer from "private" corporation to Pentagon/govt or the other way around. Try listing the members of the Bush administration (or Clinton administration) who are or were major shareholders or members of executive boards or senior employees of corporations. Just one example: Condoleezza Rice had an oil tanker named after her by the corporation Chevron. People who have worked and built good personal relations in organisation X over many years do not totally cut off these relations when they shift to organisation Y. These extremely close personal relations are just one example of the close links between corporations and govt. Boud 00:00, 11 October 2005 (UTC)

Web traffic

Recently undergone extensive restructuring and extension. Would appreciate people highlighting any gaps in the article. violet/riga (t) 17:01, 25 Dec 2004 (UTC)

No lead section and references. Otherwise seems fine after a cursory examination. Johnleemk | Talk 17:23, 25 Dec 2004 (UTC)
Looks good, can't see any holes! - Ta bu shi da yu 06:12, 21 Jan 2005 (UTC)

The Passion of the Christ

This article seems to be closing in on featured level. Can anyone check it out and see if there are any gaping errors? Johnleemk | Talk 16:55, 25 Dec 2004 (UTC)

Intro needs work; the second and third para should be elsewhere ("Commercial success" or some such). A more genuinely introductory couple of lines are needed, summarising the main points of the article. Structure needs work: separate film stuff (cast+crew, title change, role of Gibson in making film happen [which needs expanding], list of Gospel refs present/not) from Reaction (which should be major sections Religious organisations/Film critics/Public) and (probably) from Antisemitism Debate. "Further social criticism" merge with Antisemitism or clarify distinction. Rd232 20:17, 29 Dec 2004 (UTC)
Just a quick one (I'm tired!). Structure needs work. Half of the page is a list. It won't get through FAC like that. That list needs to be turned into prose: people just don't read lists!!! also, cast and crew should go down the page. - Ta bu shi da yu 18:45, 31 Dec 2004 (UTC)

Australia's Brainiest Kid

I am the only one to have contributed to this article - I want some review and some help adding essential information. I'm not expecting much help though because I'm sure most people will say it's "not notable" (a silly argument I think). Brianjd 10:09, 2004 Dec 24 (UTC)

  • Television show titles take italics. RickK 22:03, Jan 6, 2005 (UTC)

Australia's Brainiest Kid was on last year. Out of thousands of kids only 48 were chosen (top 24 boys and girls). The host was Anna Coren. This year will be Sandra Sully and Channel Ten will be hosting it. Last year was Channel Seven. This year the top 63 scorers will enter out of 12000 kids.

The Secret Garden

I have been adding a summary to this, which I feel is too detailed. Or is there such a thing as a too detailed summary? Plus, is the correct name a summary or a synopsis? Please treat all three as questions. Lee S. Svoboda 21:43, 22 Dec 2004 (UTC)

I will start somewhat less topically by noting that I am, personally, quite fond of this novel. In answer to your question, both summary and synopsis intimate concision and overview – for our purposes, we should view the two terms as overlaping. Unfortunately, I do find the section in question to be lacking in language, grammatical cohesiveness, and logical flow. These are areas where, I think, it could be significantly improved. Try to aim for clarity, avoiding convoluted sentences, for example: "...doctor who came from London, the only good docter Colin had had, had thought Colin..." I tend to view the citations as being out of place, and likely you should rethink the approach of including these as such. There seems to be an overemphasis placed on the attempt to reconsruct the actual narrative esp. through dialogue. Thus, I think you should aim towards a more objective and detached exposition. Try to condense major developments in a manner which is less emotionally-involved (esp. with the characters in the story).
Hope this helps, good luck with the revision. El_C
I know nothing about this novel. However, it seems to me that the lead section needs to be expanded a to increase the "wow!" factor, that makes the author want to read on. It's a very interesting synopsis... but it seems incomplete. Is that a synopsis of the whole story, or 90% of it? Also, a reference section is still needed! - Ta bu shi da yu 06:02, 21 Jan 2005 (UTC)
The current synopsis (slightly rewritten since Ta bu shi da yu's comment, and substantially since El C's) covers pretty much the entire book. My only reference for the work I've done on the article is the novel itself, which seems too obvious to list as a reference. --Paul A 06:15, 21 Jan 2005 (UTC)
Even though it seems obvious, we should still have the book itself as a reference! - Ta bu shi da yu 13:14, 29 Jan 2005 (UTC)

W.C. Handy

My concern regards the changes I've made to the W.C. Handy page. Upon my observation, I first thought the page was plagiarized and hence very well may have violated copyright. However, I was wrong. Yet, the information contained on the original page did not reference any source or citation, save for a brief, excerpted online version of a biography which was (and remains) in no wise exemplary. As a long-time resident of the area of Handy's birth, I have done research into his life and music. Motivated by what I perceived to be a poorly written article which was little better than a stub, I completely rewrote it, citing sources, and adding external links to current events that celebrate and commemorate his work. Referencing the previous article, there was (and which I incorprated in a revision) a reference to some of his works which I felt though only somewhat appropriate, would be better suited in a musicology article. They mentioned only one person's opinion - the writer - again, with no source citation of any kind. In my complete rewrite, I referenced the subject's autobiography, and several independent sources which are included in the external links. There is, in my estimation, a more fully complete picture of the breadth and character of the subject, and one which the casual visitor/reader would find fascinating. One example is that he started his own highly successful publishing company in an era of aparteid, and was widely acclaiamed by all. Though that detail was not necessarily of itself important, in context of the time, it was. And, seeking to present and offer understanding of the subject in context of his era and the current era was my objective. Please take a look at the article(s) and share your thoughts with me. Realize also however, that some minor formatting issues may be present, for which others more experienced will hopefully and gladly correct. The main thrust of my concern is for content, not mark-up.K. L. Bardon 18:08, Dec 22, 2004 (UTC)

Nicely done. I had no comments. Revmachine21 13:36, 11 Jan 2005 (UTC)
Very good! Perhaps my only concern is that there are too many one sentence paragraphs. Overall, though, this is an excellent article! Well researched and well written. - Ta bu shi da yu 05:55, 21 Jan 2005 (UTC)

Etty Hillesum

My first full article, I'm not sure about the format. If anyone could give me some pointers how to improve the format, I'd be a happy Wiki. I'm pretty confident about the writing as such though. SauronMaiar 21 Dec 2004 17.10 (UTC)

I will make some verb tense modifications directly to the article. As written, she seems still alive. Revmachine21 12:55, 11 Jan 2005 (UTC)
The article would be improved by the following, pictures of Etty, picture of her momument and or picture of the school named after her. She seems like an interesting person. I also added a couple of additional links. If you know of more external links, it would be nice to include them. Revmachine21 13:31, 11 Jan 2005 (UTC)
She does seem interesting... good attempt at an article! I sorted out the tense issues but I have some suggestions:
  1. We need an "References" section, see cite your sources
  2. The lead section needs to be expanded to a full paragraph.
  3. And pictures of the original diary, or of Etty herself that you can get under public domain/GFDL would be really helpful!
Good work! - Ta bu shi da yu 05:46, 21 Jan 2005 (UTC)

Minor: Why "Dutch Jewish" father and then "Jewish Russian" mother? Perhaps there is a particular reason for this word order? I did not dare to edit.

Change ringing

Lots of people have contirbuted to improve this article significantly, but I think we may all be bellringers closely involved with the subject, and I fear it may have become overly esoteric for the general audiance. Can anyone who isnt a bellringer still understand it?? Any other comments/sugestions also gratefully recived. Iain 14:18, 21 Dec 2004 (UTC)

Actually, I'm not a bellringer myself, even though I'm responsible for much of the current article (I did a pretty thorough edit a few months ago, including a rewrite of the intro ¶ and a big expansion of the "mathematics of bellringing" section.) One of my principal concerns in this article (as in all) was to explain everything in a logical order — my biggest worry was that my ignorance might lead me into some silly mistake! (So I was glad to get some peer review by bellringers to clean up my contributions.) Doops 05:25, 22 Dec 2004 (UTC)
Interesting article, and pretty well written! "Other more complicated methods permute the bells more elaborately, involving such manoeuvres as dodges, points, fish-tails, and cats-ears." What are these? Where are the references? - Ta bu shi da yu 05:35, 21 Jan 2005 (UTC)

Ernst Thälmann

Comments on whether this worth listing as featured article candidate? Rd232 18:04, 20 Dec 2004 (UTC)

  • Where are the references? - Ta bu shi da yu 05:24, 21 Jan 2005 (UTC)
  • Agreed. Without references and proper citation of facts, no. - Taxman 10:53, Jan 22, 2005 (UTC)

Vermont

I've been working hard on this for the past week, and hope this can be the first featured U.S. state article (either this of Hawaii). Suggestions or comments? [[User:Neutrality|Neutrality/talk]] 07:10, Dec 20, 2004 (UTC)

I think that your article is very good. I lived in Vermont for some time, and I know a bit about it. Just trying to think of things that you could discuss... One thing is the act 250 controversies. Basicly, the act requires environmental review of large projects. Some people wanted to build a large mall in Willison, just outside of Burlington. It was prevented, on the grounds that the mall would destroy the property tax base of Burlington (a significant piece of which was retail stores on Church Street), and therefore indirectly damage the environment as Burlington would no longer be able to pay for various governmental services. (Since then, much has changed, and Big Box stores (Home Depot, Wall Mart) have opened in Willison).
In contrast to it's "green" reputation. Much of the economy (in the North West part of Vermont) is dependent on a few large employers: The University of Vermont, which includes a teaching hospital, and IBM manufacturing facility, and a factory which makes equipment for mounting machine guns on military helicopters (it had been a GE business). Morris 16:58, Dec 22, 2004 (UTC)
First of all, the largest employer in Vermont is the state government. Secondly, and I think this is important for inclusion, is that Vermont was either nominated or considering nomination to the National Historic Register in order to deter "box stores," especially Walmart, to which Vermonters have a notably strong aversion to...I think that relates to the act 250? As does the growth of condos...I know that now, out-of-state residents with part-time homes in Vermont have to pay prime tax rates for the privelege. So this is important, I think.

As for the dairy industry, I would like to see something about the "morph" to micro-cheese dairies. If you do a Google, there was an article in the NYT last spring about this. Actually, I have a list of about 12 in Vermont. It's a growth industry and a well respected one too.

Finally, as a historian, I would be willing to help add some important (at least I think so, even if I am a flatlander...) tidbits. Ethan & Ira did not fare well after the Revolution, and that part of their story is fascinating. "18-something-and-almost-froze-to-death" is legendary, and it later resulted in that wave of religious revivalism throughout the state, some of which were incredibly bizaare. There's a book at my library and I can find it for you. I love this page. I always hated the page on my own town, because it just looked like a census report, so I think this is a great and incredibly ambitious start.

Keep up the good work! let me know if I can help in any way! Always room for another trip to the local library! Best regards, allie 02:25, 5 Jan 2005 (UTC)

  • Could we have some more information in the "State government" section? For instance, can we get a quick overview between "State government" and "State Constitution"? It seems like there are too many levels in there. The Image:Vermont.png has very blurry names (can't read them!), can this be touched up? What is "Demolinguistics"? There's nothing in there and it's marked as a sectstub! Also, the section "Sources and further reading" needs to be divided into "References" and "Further reading", or else it won't get through FAC. The "Regions of Vermont" could do with being made have a similar style as the "Political divisions of the United States". - Ta bu shi da yu 05:19, 21 Jan 2005 (UTC)


One thing that pops out immediately to me is the comment in the first paragraph that Vermont leans heavily Democratic. While counted as a "blue" state in the 2004 election, Vermont actually has a history of electing Republicans as governors and to Congress. As a former Vermont resident, I would think Vermonters would be comfortable labeled "progressive" or "independent" or both, but would object to being called heavily Democractic -- Patrick Leahy was the first Democratic Senator elected from Vermont since before the Civil War! Similarly, prior to Bernard Sanders' election to the at-large seat in the House as an independent, Republicans were the norm there as well. The other Senator, Jim Jeffords is also an independent now. The state does swing back and forth in Presidential votes, owing more to the staunchly independent point of view of most Vermont voters. I'd say there is a mild trend to electing moderates (and in Leahy's case, a liberal) politicians at the moment, but that is a very recent (last 10-15 years) development. Characterizing Vermont as having "heavy Democratic leanings" (i.e. like California) is historically inaccurate, and likely not to be an actual trend in the future, IMHO. shootersharkey 01:27, 27 Jan 2005 (UTC)

MTR

My first attempt at rewriting a major article over. This was listed on candidate for featured articles before I managed to do a rewrite, which received a number of objections. Any sharp observers willing to help out? Will be greatly appreciated. :) - Mailer Diablo 23:54, 22 Dec 2004 (UTC)

Bash.org

START OLD REVIEW

We've done a major rewrite. IMO it's much better sourced now. Can we have suggestions on further ways of fixing this? - Ta bu shi da yu 01:32, 23 Dec 2004 (UTC)

END OLD REVIEW

This talk page sounds more like a couple of children bickering than it does civilized discussion. It doesn't matter who the active parties are; this sounds more like a fight than a debate.

Something needs to be done about the discussion that's going on, perhaps in a more civilized manner? Linuxbeak 03:51, 11 Apr 2005 (UTC)

If I understand correctly, this is a request to moderate the talk page? I'm unclear how this is related to peer review. Perhaps you could just try posting periodic reminders about wikipedia policies. Or try posting a request for help to the Village Pump. — RJH 16:45, 13 Apr 2005 (UTC)

Gay Nigger Association of America

Ok, a FAC was closed recently about this artcle, and it was starting to get very ugly. Because of that, it was hard to fix some objections. I want to know if what do I need to do in order to get this up to Featured Status. Zscout370 (Sound Off) 15:32, 4 August 2005 (UTC)

For those who cannot seem to find out what some objections here, here is the list. I added my comments in the brackets:

  • Stability/Edit Wars/VFD's
  • Motives need to be known
  • Length
  • Need to list some members (listed a few)
  • Dead links (have been removed)
  • Nomination is seen as trolling/nominator (that is beyond my control)
  • Original research

Zscout370 (Sound Off) 07:52, 5 August 2005 (UTC)

Although I know that Wikipedia is not a place to mask offensive words with asterisks, some African Americans could be severely insulted by the mere presence of the phrase "Gay Nigger". The article is also the target of reckless vandalism and has seen many disputes. We need more research on what what the goal of the article is. — Stevey7788 (talk) 20:42, 5 August 2005 (UTC)

It's part of the groups name, so we cannot use stars to mask the name. Most of the time, the group is refered to as the GNAA in the article. However, in the lead section, we mentioned about the terms being racial slur against African-Americans. Zscout370 (Sound Off) 20:50, 5 August 2005 (UTC)
Plus, if this becomes Featured, I will make a request to not put this on the front page, since this will be a vandal magnet. Zscout370 (Sound Off) 20:51, 5 August 2005 (UTC)
It's also very hard to get it to FA status. The topic itself is controversial, even though the article has references and shows as the result of very hard work. The FAC page for GNAA is very big, confusing, and full of arguments. I don't think a second FAC will be very productive. — Stevey7788 (talk) 20:52, 5 August 2005 (UTC)
We began to get more support votes, and some of the people who objected before changed their minds after their objections have been resolved. Some objections were about the person who nominated the article, we had one symbolic object, and others who objected due to stability. I do not know what the rules are for an article to become "stable." That is also why I am here: still trying to see what I am missing before I send it to FAC again. Zscout370 (Sound Off) 21:00, 5 August 2005 (UTC)

If I read WP:WIAFA correctly, stability refers to "Should be mostly static, and not change rapidly from day to day." While things are getting added day to day to the article, the concept of the article remains the same: Intro, members, attacks and reaction to them. But, if those sections are being changed around on a constant basis, then I can see why the article is not considered stable. As for the edit waring, this is what the above site says "Be uncontroversial in its neutrality and factual accuracy, and not have ongoing edit wars (see Wikipedia:Resolving disputes)." I do not see vandalism as an obstacle to the edit waring, since every page gets vandalized in their life on the Wiki. Plus, the last problems took place a month ago, but the issue was resolved when the waring edits left the article. Zscout370 (Sound Off) 21:09, 5 August 2005 (UTC)

"The GNAA have succesfully trolled Mac OS X users several times." What consitutes a "successful" troll? Who establishes the criteria? How can this statement be factually accurate and verfiable? --Tabor 23:55, 5 August 2005 (UTC)

I will go ahead and removed succesfully. Zscout370 (Sound Off) 23:56, 5 August 2005 (UTC)

Link (Legend of Zelda)

I've done some work on this over the past couple of days. The original article felt quite miserable for such a mainstream game character. The incarnations section still needs some work (which I'm volunteering to do) but I'd like a few reactions and opinion on where this article has been going and what should be added/corrected. Thanks.--Phils 19:40, 27 Dec 2004 (UTC)

This might sound silly, but isn't it odd or NPOV to call Link courageous or fierce ? He is controlled by the player so he is what the person playing him tells him to do. Otherwise nice job. BrokenSegue 23:22, 28 Dec 2004 (UTC)
I'm not sure calling link courageous is a violation of the NPOV: it is made quite clear that courage is a very important attribute of Link throughout the series (he is the bearer of the Triforce of Courage), as opposed to simply being strong or powerful. Moreover, while the Legend of Zelda series do feature high freedom of movement, but they do not really make use of branching story lines, so in the end, no matter how bad the player is, once he has completed the game, the result is the same. Wether a 10-12 year old boy single-handedly defeating myriads of monsters is worthy of being called 'courageous' or 'fierce' is indeed subject to every person's personal opinion. However, I think we can safely say that the games give strong hints that the makers wanted Link to be seen as such. I'll leave it as is, but if it really bothers someone, they can change the article so as to reflect the fact that Link's courage, while hinted at in the game, is subjective.

Phils 12:26, 29 Dec 2004 (UTC)

Architecture of Btrieve

OK, this is a split off article to my recently featured article Btrieve. What do people think? - Ta bu shi da yu 15:00, 29 Dec 2004 (UTC)