Wikipedia:Peer review/Final Fantasy VI/archive2

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

Final Fantasy VI[edit]

Archive 1 This article is the current GA collaboration and suggestions on how this article could be improved to FA status would be appreciated. Tarret 02:07, 19 July 2006 (UTC)

I'd just like to comment that I feel this Peer Review is a little premature. We've been doing a lot of renovations, but we hadn't gotten to a comfortable spot just yet. However, we were closing in on that, so go ahead and bring on the comments. Just keep in mind that we were still reworking the Gameplay and Development sections. Ryu Kaze 02:36, 19 July 2006 (UTC)

The prose needs a lot of work. I've been working on it, but there are still some awkward phrases, such as:

  • "Customization in Final Fantasy VI lies in the choice of equipment the player chooses to outfit his characters with, including the usage of relics—accessories which augment stats or lend special abilities to the wearer." - awkward, long, and unncessary wording
    • I've been meaning to fix that. I don't know who wrote it. Crazyswordsman 03:07, 19 July 2006 (UTC)
  • Redundant usage of "additionally", "in addition", and "also"
  • "This quarrel released magical energy into the world, transforming any human touched by it into a magical creature known as an "Esper," each under the control of the goddesses." "It" refers to the quarrel or the magical energy? Also may be seen as awkward to some
  • Contractions, such as "they've"
  • A few other issues

It's starting to look very, very good. 2a is the issue. — Deckiller 02:59, 19 July 2006 (UTC)

Additionally, it needs some specifics for the Reception section that it just doesn't have right now. It's all well and good to have scores that big names in the industry gave it, but it's not conveying very much if we don't have specifics about what they liked and didn't like and how they felt it compared to other Final Fantasy titles. Of course, given that it's a pretty old game by now, it might be kind of hard to come by that information. Ryu Kaze 02:57, 19 July 2006 (UTC)
Yeah. This isn't ready yet. I was going to wait until the end of the week. We need some more Reception info, I just don't know where to find it. We should start with something that says that it was well received. Someone removed that it was remembered fondly by gamers (because it was unreferenced), however, I think it serves as a good leader in to the stuff that is referenced, especially since that section seems rather listy to me. Crazyswordsman 03:07, 19 July 2006 (UTC)
I've tried prosifying it so that it loses that feel of a list, but wording that sounds like it's going to take you somewhere descriptive (instead only taking you to a score) only works the first one or two times. Ryu Kaze 03:23, 19 July 2006 (UTC)
We're going to need an image of wandering around in a town in "Gameplay", by the way, and we still need to finish working on the Development and Gameplay sections (though Gameplay's starting to look better). Everything else is pretty solid (enough to take us into Peer Review anyway), the only exception of course being References, which are kind of lackluster as noted above. Ryu Kaze 03:31, 19 July 2006 (UTC)
I'll get that image for you tonight. Crazyswordsman 11:09, 19 July 2006 (UTC)

Honestly, I am starting to dislike the peer review system. We place the FF8 peer review up for a week, and people end up posting their comments on the talk page, which is absolutely not their fault, but it shows how this system is starting to become obsolete. It seems that FAC is turning into the new peer review...— Deckiller 06:50, 19 July 2006 (UTC)

Does kind of look like it. In any event, it's best to continue following protocol for as long as they think it's working. Ryu Kaze 12:53, 19 July 2006 (UTC)
I've finished adding my personal touch to every aspect of the article now. All image summaries and licenings have been updated, a new Characters image added, a field map screen added and tinkering with the prose everywhere is done until we get feedback or somebody else sees something they'd like to tweak. Ryu Kaze 18:19, 19 July 2006 (UTC)
Maybe we should submit it for FAC once as a practice, then make the changes, then submit it again? Crazyswordsman 22:41, 19 July 2006 (UTC)
Generally speaking, there's plenty of time to make the corrections during the FAC process. Might as well go for it. Nothing to lose, all to gain. — Deckiller 00:43, 21 July 2006 (UTC)

The prose still needs work; I'll go ahead and finish my copyedits in a bit. — Deckiller 01:37, 20 July 2006 (UTC)

I just want to make sure that we all agree that it's ready before submitting it. Do you think we should put this on top and get outside help for it? Or can we make it a mirrror of Final Fantasy VIII and Final Fantasy X without removing the section on localization (Ted Woolsey's FFVI translation is probably the most notable of the seres, as it's the only one that is talked about regularly). Crazyswordsman 03:22, 21 July 2006 (UTC)
I think it's as good as it's going to get until there's been more constructive criticism offered. And, yeah, I'd keep the localization thing. It's notable, and not exactly something either FFVIII, FFX or FFX-2 had reason to include. Ryu Kaze 12:35, 21 July 2006 (UTC)
  • Please see automated peer review suggestions here. Thanks, AZ t 15:33, 21 July 2006 (UTC)
Bot issues now addressed. Slight note, though: not counting references, the character count is significantly under 30,000 characters, so additional lead paragraphs aren't needed. Ryu Kaze 17:50, 21 July 2006 (UTC)