Wikipedia:Peer review/List of unrecognized countries/archive1

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

List of unrecognized countries[edit]

This peer review discussion has been closed.
I've listed this article for peer review because I feel that it just needs a bit more criticism before it is ready for a WP:FLC.


Thanks, Gary King (talk) 21:16, 28 February 2008 (UTC)

  • Some quick comments:
    • Could you ensure that each reference includes the publishing date and author?
    • I'm not sure if this is a reliable source, as it's self publisher. Could an alternative souce be found?
    • In the recognition column, I think only the full-sentences should end with periods. Epbr123 (talk) 21:27, 28 February 2008 (UTC)
    • Could the definition of an unrecognized country be more fully explained? For example, why wouldn't Chechen Republic of Ichkeria be included in the list?

Epbr123 (talk) 21:37, 28 February 2008 (UTC)

  • The yellow text forming part of the map key is not readable. Suggest you use another colour, or black text and perhaps a coloured bullet. --Tagishsimon (talk) 21:42, 28 February 2008 (UTC)
    • Is it better now? I don't know how to do a colored bullet. Gary King (talk) 22:00, 28 February 2008 (UTC)

Like this (see imaghe to right): --Tagishsimon (talk) 22:57, 28 February 2008 (UTC)

      • Done. Oh, you were too late on the green, so I already changed it to dark green; I have both light and dark green now, so let me know which you prefer. Gary King (talk) 23:10, 28 February 2008 (UTC)
Unrecognized countries
Red.svg Red indicates no recognition
Solid yellow.svg Yellow indicates limited recognition
Solid green.svg Green indicates majority recognition
  • Once again, an excellent effort. Can I just confirm that all the details in the country's row are covered by the same reference?
    • Yes, that is the case with each row. Gary King (talk) 22:57, 28 February 2008 (UTC)

PeterSymonds | talk 22:48, 28 February 2008 (UTC)

The map is inaccurate though; it doesn't include the unrecognized countries, it includes the countries they're rebelling from. I very much doubt Georgia and Azerbaijan and Sri Lanka and Moldova are wholly unrecognized. --Golbez (talk) 00:09, 29 February 2008 (UTC)

I will change the wording to something more explanatory, but I will not change the map because there is really no other way to indicate which countries have regions within them that are unrecognized. I'm showing which countries have regions that are unrecognized, not which regions are unrecognized. I suck at drawing :) Gary King (talk) 03:21, 29 February 2008 (UTC)