Athletics New Zealand

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Athletics New Zealand
Athletics New Zealand Logo.png
SportAthletics
JurisdictionIncorporated Society
AbbreviationANZ
Founded1887 (1887)
AffiliationIAAF
Affiliation date1932
Regional affiliationOAA
HeadquartersAuckland
PresidentDianne Rodger
ChairpersonAnnette Purvis
Vice president(s)Ian Babe
ReplacedNew Zealand Amateur Athletic Association
Official website
www.athletics.org.nz
New Zealand

Athletics New Zealand (ANZ) is the national governing body for athletics in New Zealand. This includes responsibility for Track and field, cross country running, road running and racewalking.[1]

History[edit]

The organisation was founded in 1887 as the New Zealand Amateur Athletic Association (NZAAA). The first national championships were held the following year in 1888. In 1989, the current name was adopted.[2]

Structure[edit]

There are 11 regional athletics associations supporting 179 clubs with approximately 22,000 registered members including athletes, coaches and volunteers[3].

New Zealand Regional Athletics Associations
Athletics Northland Inc Athletics Northland
Athletics Auckland Inc www.athleticsauckland.co.nz
Athletics Waikato Bay of Plenty Inc www.athleticswaikatobayofplenty.org.nz
Athletics Taranaki Inc www.athleticstaranaki.org.nz
Athletics Hawkes Bay Gisborne Inc Hawkes Bay Gisborne Athletics
Athletics Manawatu Wanganui Inc PNAHC Wanganui Athletics
Athletics Wellington Inc www.athleticswellington.org.nz
Athletics Tasman Inc athleticsnelson
Athletics Canterbury Inc www.athleticscanterbury.org.nz
Athletics Otago Inc www.athleticsotago.co.nz
Athletics Southland Inc www.athleticssouthland.co.nz

Affiliations[edit]

ANZ is the national member federation for New Zealand in the following international organisations:

Athletics New Zealand is part of the following national organisations:

National records[edit]

ANZ maintains the New Zealand records in athletics.

See also[edit]

References[edit]

  1. ^ Athletics New Zealand, IAAF, retrieved 24 January 2014
  2. ^ Story: Athletics - Page 1 – The sport of athletics, Te Ara: The Encyclopedia of New Zealand, retrieved 24 January 2014
  3. ^ Athletics New Zealand Annual Report 2018, retrieved 22 March 2019

External links[edit]