Talk:Assist (baseball)

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
WikiProject Baseball (Rated C-class, Mid-importance)
WikiProject icon This article is within the scope of WikiProject Baseball, a collaborative effort to improve the coverage of baseball on Wikipedia. If you would like to participate, please visit the project page, where you can join the discussion and see a list of open tasks.
C-Class article C  This article has been rated as C-Class on the project's quality scale.
 Mid  This article has been rated as Mid-importance on the project's importance scale.
 

List of Single Season Records by Position...[edit]

Is interesting, but I'd limit the records to the modern era of baseball, (post 1902, I think, is the cutoff, when the balk was introduced among other things). Someone must know how to do this... —Preceding unsigned comment added by 66.127.51.82 (talk) 00:14, 1 October 2007 (UTC)

Baserunner hold[edit]

Why does Baserunner hold redirect here? There are plenty of instances of holding a runner without there being an assist. Kingturtle (talk) 22:56, 2 April 2008 (UTC)

Double Plays[edit]

The article isn't really clear on how many assists you get in case of a double play. It says one assist per out recorded. So, let's say there's a runner on first, and the batter grounds to short. The shortstop fields the ball, throws to the second baseman to get out the runner, then the second baseman throws to the first baseman for the second out. Does the shortstop get two assists, the second baseman an assist and a putout, and the firstbaseman a putout? john k (talk) 22:50, 23 August 2010 (UTC)

Earning Assists[edit]

The article claims "An assist is credited to every defensive player who fields or touches the ball (after it has been hit by the batter) prior to the recording of a putout, even if the contact was unintentional."

However, Major League Baseball's official scorer's guidance offers "Rule 9.10(a)(1) Comment: Mere ineffective contact with the ball shall not be considered an assist. “Deflect” shall mean to slow down or change the direction of the ball and thereby effectively assist in putting out a batter or runner."

It seems saying that an assist is awarded for unintentionally touching the ball is not only possible, but a given contradicts the official scorer's guidance. That said, I'm only an amateur scorer, and I would appreciate an expert weighing in before I make an edit. Matthew.cole (talk) 00:48, 22 March 2017 (UTC)