Talk:The New York Review of Books

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

Photo[edit]

HAHAHA I cannot believe the photo in the article! Seriously, doesn't anyone else think it's kinda inappropriate? --Jlpspinto 01:45, 18 June 2006 (UTC)

It is really funny. But hey... it does indeed show various copies of The New York Review of Books, as claimed... and a cat... - Reaverdrop (talk/nl/w:s) 07:56, 20 June 2006 (UTC)

Is there a reason why the photo was deleted? I think its humorous and irreverant nature was appropriate for the article. Maybe it could be inserted lower down...  ? -- Ssilvers 20:08, 20 April 2007 (UTC)

Infobox[edit]

I'm not 100% sure the info i've provided is correct in this infobox. please add to it as i will endeavour to do so. Jpeob 10:39, 2 August 2006 (UTC)

Pretentious description[edit]

Does anyone else think..."which takes, as its point of departure that the discussion of important books is itself an indispensable literary activity...." is a bit pretentious particularly at the start of the article? --Tom 17:02, 18 September 2006 (UTC)

Can the quip about the "amazing pettiness" of the letters be delted?

Sale of the Review[edit]

It is true that the Review was sold to Rea S. Hederman by the founders, but I can't remember the exact date. I'm sure a google search would turn up something. I doubt that the amount of the sale was disclosed, since it was a private sale. However, both Bob Silvers and Barbara Epstein (until her death) stayed on as the editors after Hederman bought the Review. -- Ssilvers 20:04, 20 April 2007 (UTC)

The sale is discussed here. -- Ssilvers (talk) 14:24, 19 December 2011 (UTC)

International content[edit]

The following statement has been removed from this article: "In addition to domestic issues, the Review covers issues of international interest, including frequent articles about Israel." This information simply describes an important component of the content of the NY Review, which one can see in its table of contents in each issue. The sources given are (1) Commentary (magazine) and (2) Mondoweiss.

  • The Commentary (magazine) link is here. It links to the NYRB "Topic" at Commentary and shows a series of more than a dozen articles in Commentary that comment on articles in the New York Review of Books, at least 10 of which focus on Israel or US policy concerning Israel.
  • The Mondoweiss link is here. It discusses a piece in the Review that it calls "important" and says that "the Review has an enormous effect inside Jewish life...." Mondoweiss is a blog co-edited by respected journalists: Philip Weiss and Adam Horowitz. Here is their About page.

It would be a major omission in the description of the content of the NY Review if we did not mention that a significant part of its content is international content, and anyone who looks at its table of contents, not to mention the two links above, will see that it regularly publishes pieces focusing on Israel, Israeli policy and US policy concerning Israel. Nevertheless, if you don't like the Mondoweiss link, it is not essential and could be deleted. I suggest that the content be restored to the article. At a bare minimum, it should mention that the Review covers international topics. -- 66.65.112.230 (talk) 17:21, 12 March 2012 (UTC)

The use of the first link is WP:OR as it doesn't say it directly the second one is not WP:RS.--Shrike (talk) 18:05, 12 March 2012 (UTC)

Thank you for your kind Welcome message. Would you please look at this edit?: http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=The_New_York_Review_of_Books&diff=481471141&oldid=481451796 It seems to me that this information is essential in this article, as it merely describes the content of the publication, which one can see, in any case, in its table of contents in each issue. Most appreciated, thanks! -- 66.65.112.230 (talk) 15:58, 12 March 2012 (UTC)

Conversation on Guillaume2303 page[edit]

  • Hi, I did look at it and as I said on the talk page of WP Magazines, I don't see anything improper. The text is sourced to a blog and smacks of POV. --Guillaume2303 (talk) 16:04, 12 March 2012 (UTC)
    • Thanks. I would ask that you please look again: Note that the statement is also referenced to Commentary (magazine). What if the blog reference were dropped, and the material were simply: In addition to domestic issues, the Review covers issues of international interest, including frequent articles about Israel. See "Topic: the New York Review of Books", Commentary, accessed March 11, 2012. I think if you'll look at the link to Commentary, in which writers at Commentary describe this aspect of The New York Review of Books, you'll see that it is a key component of the content of this magazine. Thanks for your patience. -- 66.65.112.230 (talk) 16:19, 12 March 2012 (UTC)
  • I had a look at the Commentary article, which does not substantiate the phrase you give. It talks about a piece in the review and nowhere says something like "the review regularly publishes about Israel". The addition of this text and this reference is therefore improper. --Guillaume2303 (talk) 16:32, 12 March 2012 (UTC)
  • Sorry to keep bothering you about this, but did you scroll down? The Commentary link shows a series of more than a dozen articles focused on the New York Review of Books, at least 10 of which discuss articles in the Review that focus on Israel, Israeli policy or US policy concerning Israel. Again, sorry, but I think this is important, and that to remove all mention of this from the NYRB article is to ignore a key component of its content, which, in any case, one can see from the table of contents in each issue. -- 66.65.112.230 (talk) 16:58, 12 March 2012 (UTC)
  • The Middle East conflicts are an important part of international news, so it would really be notable if the review did not pay any attention to Israel. Using the link to the Commentary as a source for the statement that you propose to include is borderline POV and synthesis and original research at best. Please feel free to launch a request for comment on the talk page of the article on the review. --Guillaume2303 (talk) 17:12, 12 March 2012 (UTC)
I agree totally with Guillaume2303.I think as it relevant to the article I will copy it to the talk there--Shrike (talk) 18:11, 12 March 2012 (UTC)
Agree with Guillaume2303; discussion of Israel and Mideast is within context of international news, not "key component". It also has given much discussion to developments in Europe during the breakup of Yugoslavia and resulting wars, breakup of Soviet Union, Arab Spring, etc.Parkwells (talk) 17:16, 19 September 2013 (UTC)

Editing for organization[edit]

Did some editing to include more content about what the journal was when first published, rather than immediately including all the quotes written 50 years later on its anniversary.Parkwells (talk) 17:12, 19 September 2013 (UTC)

Very biased article[edit]

This article currently goes out of its way to present the NYRB as a high class and intellectual. Fair enough, all of those claims can be sourced and there are no reason they should not remain. At the same time, it's easy to find good RS sources calling it 'gutter journalism', 'sensationalist rag' and other less flattering epitaphs. In the interest of NPOV, surely both of these views should be noted, and be noted throughout the article. In other words, we can't have just a section of criticism in an article that praises the NYRB in all other sections. Jeppiz (talk) 12:22, 4 October 2016 (UTC)

I have read your comments above and I do not agree with you. If you have reliable sources could you please note them? Thanks. Jack1956 (talk) 19:13, 4 October 2016 (UTC)
I also disagree. This article is presented neutrally, with criticisms presented as well as praise. If you have reliable, published sources that critique the NYRB, by all means, present them. -- 65.78.11.228 (talk) 19:22, 4 October 2016 (UTC)
Please stop adding the 'ad' tag to the page until a consensus has been reached to do so. You cannot put arbitrary tags on an article and then expect a consensus has to be reached to remove it. Consensus must agree to put it on. Jack1956 (talk)
I'll gladly add sources, but please note that "I do not agree" is not a reason to remove tags, so kindly refrain from disruptive behavior of that kind. As for the article reading as an ad, it contains both subjective unsourced praise and already the first paragraph claims it to be ""the premier literary-intellectual magazine in the English language." Apart from the fact that that is taken from a ten year old obituary, it's one person's subjective view, and hardly WP:DUE for the opening paragraph. I'm afraid you're both missing the main point, though. An article can be written like an advert even by using sources, so the use of sources is not the main concern. The issue here is whether the article gives a dispassionate and factual account of the NYRB or whether it tries to make a positive case for it. Jeppiz (talk) 20:09, 4 October 2016 (UTC)
I am surprised to read that reputable sources condemn the NYRB, but if Jeppiz has any relevant material from reliable sources to substantiate the claim s/he can of course add it. I also think the recently added tag on the article page was unsubstantiated and wilfully inappropriate and I support its removal. The article has been stable for a very long time, with a number of established editors contributing, and it strikes me as not quite right for a 'drive-by' addition to have been made like this by an uninvolved editor with no prior discussion. Good manners cost nothing, after all. Tim riley talk 20:12, 4 October 2016 (UTC)
Thanks Tim riley. I see your point, but once again: my concern was more that the page is written like an ad. Even if every source we could find would be positive (and I'll take some time to look for more sourced), we should still try to present the subject dispassionately. Not negatively, but dispassionately. While I won't re-add the tag, I stand by what I said about the dubiousness of starting an article by claiming in the first paragraph that the subject is the best in the world. That's simply not encyclopaedic. Jeppiz (talk) 20:30, 4 October 2016 (UTC)
Per WP:LEAD, the article's lead section gives an overview of the article, including what some of the most prominent critics have said about it. Wolfe's quote is not praise at all: By "radical chic", he was making a critique; his quote was selected for the Lead because it has frequently been quoted elsewhere. In any case, I think that the quotes selected for the lead give an overview of the criticism section that characterize the publication fairly well for readers. Compare The New York Times article's lead: it gives that newspaper's nickname: "The Gray Lady", calls it the national "newspaper of record" and gives its motto, "All the News That's Fit to Print". I do not see any unsourced praise in the article, but if you can identify any, I agree that it must be sourced. I must disagree that the article reads like an advertisement, and therefore, I believe that the tag is inappropriate. I bellieve that, based on the sources I have seen, the articles emphasis comports with our guidelines on WP:DUE. -- 65.78.11.228 (talk) 20:45, 4 October 2016 (UTC)
No worries, I perfectly respect your and Tim riley's opinions. I disagree to some extent, as I explained, but I'm not here to start an edit war. I'll look for more sources, come back in a few days and we can discuss further. Jeppiz (talk) 20:50, 4 October 2016 (UTC)
OK, thanks. -- 65.78.11.228 (talk) 20:58, 4 October 2016 (UTC)
I just read this article looking for bias or promotional writing, and I made little tweaks. WP:NPOV says that neutral writing "means representing fairly, proportionately, and, as far as possible, without editorial bias, all of the significant views that have been published by reliable sources on a topic." The article seems to me to present the topic fairly and proportionately, without editorializing. It lets the sources speak for themselves, and it cites numerous high-quality sources, giving views both positive, negative and mixed about the NYRB. I looked carefully at the Lead section, and I agree that it gives a fair, if perhaps too brief, overview of the article as a whole. Having said all that, I think that the Advertising tag is a pretty radical badge of opprobrium to put at the top of an article. I would only use it in an extreme situation where the article used lots of marketing speak. This article, on the other hand, contains mostly critiques, descriptions and analysis by news sources that are (or own) competitors of the NYRB. The heading of this comment seems quite misleading. -- UWS Guy (talk) 21:03, 6 October 2016 (UTC)