Talk:Whey

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search
WikiProject Food and drink (Rated Start-class, Mid-importance)
WikiProject iconThis article is within the scope of WikiProject Food and drink, a collaborative effort to improve the coverage of food and drink related articles on Wikipedia. If you would like to participate, please visit the project page, where you can join the discussion and see a list of open tasks.
Start-Class article Start  This article has been rated as Start-Class on the project's quality scale.
Checklist icon
 Mid  This article has been rated as Mid-importance on the project's importance scale.
 
 

Protein[edit]

It would be nice to have a more detailed summery in the Whey Protein section, and perhaps one of those fancy links telling people that the main article is whey protein. — Preceding unsigned comment added by 129.22.18.203 (talk) 02:55, 4 October 2011 (UTC)

Good suggestion, added it. PuercoPop (talk) 03:22, 14 November 2012 (UTC)

Whey allergy[edit]

I think that the statement "An allergic reaction to whey is fairly common" is a bit exaggerated. Some people indeed have an allergy to proteins found in whey, but I would not characterize it as "fairly common". Especially when there is no such indication on the "casein" lemma, and the relevant "side-effects" section on the "milk" lemma focuses on calcium, fat and lactose (none of these present in whey - not 100% sure about calcium though). One should also highlight the potential health benefits of whey protein against breast and prostate cancers as shown in recent literature. --Ravenous75 11:15, 25 January 2006 (UTC)

WPC[edit]

someone needs to explain the abbrivation WPC,, expand it, or delete it. It is not clear what WPC stands for. i.e. the text reads "It is lower in fat and higher in protein and calcium than WPC."

WPC has now been expanded to Whey Protein Concentrate. This protein is also used as dietry supplement for bodybuilding.

whey as pollutant[edit]

Here are some references that seem to indicate that the acid whey produced as a by product of making greek yogurt, the production of which has increased manyfold, is indeed of environmental concern:

Modern Farmer [1] University of VT Food Systems Blog [2] NY Post [3]

However, I'm not up for editing the article, I'm still learning about this. Note, this is about acid whey, not sweet whey. Wikikd (talk) 02:34, 4 February 2014 (UTC)

This seems to be written by someone with a vegan agenda. There is not supporting references to it. —The preceding unsigned comment was added by 71.141.231.139 (talk) 05:17, August 20, 2007 (UTC)

There are strict state and federal regulations prohibiting the release of Whey into sewers as it is such a strong pollutant that most municipal sewage plants cannot treat it adequately. The cheese consumption in America has doubled since 1960 and now this by-product is being produced in alarming quantities (according to Los Angeles Times, 1978). Releasing it into streams is out of the questions because it destroys marine life through depleting the waterways of oxygen. suc my balllz

Sauce Plz.-LordQuwit 12:14, 20 August 2007 (UTC)

NvM no1 is going to give a source, I will remove these lies until someone wants to back up this stuff.-LordQuwit 12:16, 20 August 2007 (UTC)

Reference?[edit]

Shouldn't the cited reference be listed completely in a references section rather than be a hyperlink and nothing else? —Preceding unsigned comment added by 203.22.224.77 (talk) 02:56, 18 October 2007 (UTC)

Alleged colloquial use of "whey"[edit]

I have three times reverted this addition to the article by an anon account who

  1. does not provide any reference despite my challenge
  2. has previously vandalised Tragedy by inserting the word "Whey" into it. See [1]

I therefore believe that this is a situation in which WP:AGF does not apply and where the vandalism reversion get-out to WP:3RR os applicable. If anyone knows otherwise, then please speak up.--Peter cohen (talk) 21:12, 28 April 2008 (UTC)

Dairy?[edit]

Is whey, and whey protein for that matter, considered dairy? More importantly, can people with lactose intolerance take whey? Seems like a common question that could be answered here with a reference. —Preceding unsigned comment added by 24.151.114.182 (talk) 20:10, 6 March 2009 (UTC)

It is stated in the article that whey contains lactose, and is not suitable for lactose-intolerant persons. If an allergy is present, then all products of the allergenic material should be considered allergenic themselves; this applies to whey. If you are referring to whey protein concentrate, I'm sure you can find the relevant information on that article. Also, in the future, please sign your posts with four tildes (~). 76.232.70.14 (talk) 07:13, 13 February 2011 (UTC)

Vandalism?[edit]

There is a paragraph describing how to make "Cream of Tartar Whey". I left that intact, as it seems to be legit and is referenced (although I'm not sure whether it's really relevant). However, I removed the links that were in the paragraph, because the link blue milk brings you to a page about "List of Substances in Star Wars", and the mis-spelled word "bason" brought you to a page on some anime character "Bason". Clearly neither one is what the paragraph refers to. I corrected the spelling of "basin" as well; not sure what the protocol is on that, if it's okay to alter original spelling in quotes. I figure given the unimportance of the subject, that it really matters..45Colt 04:31, 5 March 2014 (UTC) — Preceding unsigned comment added by .45Colt (talkcontribs)

I think blue milk is actually just an old term for skim milk. The blue milk explained in the paragraph is a pest that infects milk, and seems unlikely to have been common enough to be a staple. In A Compleat Body of Husbandry https://books.google.com/books?id=-u8TAAAAQAAJ&pg=PA261#v=onepage&q&f=false he tells of a skimmed milk having a blue color. Skim milk does have a blue tinge to it, it is more noticeable as a thin film on a glass, against something black, or supposedly if mixed with some flour. I'm no expert so I'm going to leave it alone, but I think the section explaining blue milk should be removed, and if some more data is found, replaced with skim milk.

38.122.120.106 (talk) 23:19, 30 March 2017 (UTC)

Oxford English Dictionary lists a 1765 use of "blue milk" as "milk that is low in butter fat, and hence has a bluish tinge; skimmed milk.", so I deleted the implausible fungal explanation and replaced it with just "skim milk". Olawlor (talk) 21:41, 17 May 2019 (UTC)

Australian English confusion (whey being called "milk permeate")[edit]

I have just found out what "permeate" is (other than it's normal meaning in English, "to spread or flow throughout"). "Milk permeate" seems to be Australian for whey. All sources on the Wikipedia page "Milk permeate" are Australian, and the word "whey" isn't even mentioned once there, and the only other language the page exists in is German (just a few words). On the Wikipedia page "Whey", however, the word "permeate" isn't mentioned anywhere, and the whey page exists in 47 languages.

To avoid confusion, and to expose Australian readers to info on whey, as well as exposing other readers to the Australian specifics of "milk permeate", I suggest links or redirects at the top of the entries for the two terms. — Preceding unsigned comment added by 106.37.118.121 (talk) 05:37, 23 September 2014 (UTC)

WP is not a dictionary. Two terms referring to the same thing belong in the same article. The lead of the "milk permeate" (and "permeate" here presumably is a noun, meaning "something that permeates") clearly says that it is a synonym for 'whey'. Following WP policy, the two articles should be merged, under the title Whey (but of course mentioning the Australian alternative), which is the widely-accepted international name for this substance. --Macrakis (talk) 14:34, 23 September 2014 (UTC)

Nice to see constructive suggestions and WP work from a more WP savvy person! (Just a small note: Yes, 'the lead of the "milk permeate" clearly says that it is a synonym for "whey"' after I added that info. Before I did so, the word "whey" didn't exist on the page.) 1.202.44.205 (talk) 15:36, 23 September 2014 (UTC)

I started the article, but did not know they were the same thing. Happy to merge, I'll do it myself tomorrow. --Canley (talk) 07:48, 24 September 2014 (UTC)
Sounds good! There do seem to be some fine distinctions made in the dairy industry, but I think they belong comfortably within the whey article. In particular, there probably needs to be more discussion of dried/dehydrated whey and permeate. See [2] [3] [4] [5] for example. --Macrakis (talk) 14:36, 24 September 2014 (UTC)
Thanks for the links, I'll work on it as soon as I get a chance. --Canley (talk) 14:36, 26 September 2014 (UTC)

I’m not too sure about what our neighbours down under classifies milk ‘permeate’ as, but from what I understand in New Zealand, we consider milk ‘permeate’ as a product formed from the ultrafiltration of fresh raw milk/slim milk, which is then used to reconstitute milk back to ‘standardised levels’ for taste and nutrients after milk processing. Now, I know for a fact that whey is the watery part formed after milk is curdled, which is usually induced by an acidic environment, which goes to suggest two startling different interpretations of this technical terminology. What I propose is a dedicated page for milk permeate or even permeate (plus a relevant category title in brackets like diary, agriculture, farming) followed by a section that separates out different understandings in either various countries or something. Like something general explaining the process of ultra-filtration or filtration in terms of milk processing and then followed by the specific explanations of that this permeate product is under their respective circumstances. Now, I remember there is some Wikipedia policy under a specific number which I can’t remember off the top of my head that supports this idea as there is a lot of both media, governmental and organisational coverage about what is this ‘permeate’. You could also discuss health concerns like average constitution and risks of excessive added permeate to people who are lactose intolerant or how the proteins in this permeate may lead to higher risks for people with diary allergies due to the protein’s inherent adjuvant nature. Just my two cents~ Sk9c00 (talk) 11:02, 5 February 2018 (UTC)

Help, please, for Whey...[edit]

Copied from my talk page -- John of Reading (talk) 11:50, 3 December 2016 (UTC)

The intro for this article states

Acid whey is manufactured during the making of rennet types of hard cheese like cheddar or Swiss cheese. Sweet whey (also known as "sour whey") is a co-product produced during the making of acid types of dairy products such as cottage cheese or strained yogurt.

Whereas under 'Production' it states

Sweet whey is the co-product of rennet-coagulated cheese and acid whey (also called sour whey) is the co-product of acid-coagulated cheese.

Now is that a contradiction or am I reading it wrong? If the former, could you correct it or bring in someone who can? If the latter... please clarify my confusion. All the Best! Shir-El too 08:08, 3 December 2016 (UTC)

Merge[edit]

I propose merging Whey protein here — Preceding unsigned comment added by 2.90.210.75 (talk) 19:34, 6 March 2018 (UTC)