Talk:Vegetarian hot dog

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
WikiProject Food and drink (Rated Stub-class, Low-importance)
WikiProject icon This article is within the scope of WikiProject Food and drink, a collaborative effort to improve the coverage of food and drink related articles on Wikipedia. If you would like to participate, please visit the project page, where you can join the discussion and see a list of open tasks.
Stub-Class article Stub  This article has been rated as Stub-Class on the project's quality scale.
 Low  This article has been rated as Low-importance on the project's importance scale.
 
 

Merger proposal[edit]

Discussion at Talk:Tofu hot dog. Eco84 | Talk 01:01, 18 October 2007 (UTC)

Tofu hot dog now redirects to this article. Eco84 | Talk 02:05, 3 November 2007 (UTC)

Vegetarian casing?[edit]

What kind of ”synthetic ingredients” is the casing made of? I have wondered about this for a long time and asked several vegetarians – and other people who don't eat meat – but no-one could answer my question.

2009-06-10 Lena Synnerholm, Märsta, Sweden.

According to the [hot dog] article, skinless meat hot dogs have a cellulose casing when cooked, which is removed after cooking in the factory. It's the same thing with vegetarian hot dogs. The more expensive "natural casing" meat hot dogs have a casing of animal intestine. As far as I know, no one makes a vegetarian hot dog which has a casing that you eat.--RLent (talk) 14:54, 11 October 2011 (UTC)

Redirection[edit]

Why does vegetarian sausage get redirected here? A hot dog is not the same as a sausage. ACEOREVIVED (talk) 23:35, 16 May 2012 (UTC)

Hot dog is a type of sausage. I think this imitation of a hot dog is the most common vegetarian sausage.

2012-08-01 Lena Synnerholm, Märsta, Sweden.

Yes, s hot dog is a type of sausage, and vegetarian hot dog is a type of hot dog. It's not an "imitation of a hot dog". It's unlikely there are any reliable stats on which is most common, but there's no reason to assume vegetarian hot dogs are more common than any other type of vegetarian sausage. Anyway, someone's fixed the redirect and vegetarian sausage is now found under sausage.

Origin[edit]

It seems pretty likely that the origin was just someone who, noting that some meat hot dogs had a liberal amount of non-meat filler, just took the concept one step further. So there's really probably no moment of invention here, it probably occurred to a number of people at various times and places. 76.102.1.193 (talk) 17:52, 2 June 2012 (UTC)