User:Tinkermen/SandboxJF

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
I live in the Southern California area pictured here, with the San Gabriel Mountains in the background with over 15 million people from all over the world and we seem to get along rather nicely I think.

Personal Facts About User:Tinkermen Talk

I am known for taking editing breaks for short periods of time since I began editing in 2009, for projects I have had to work on in my personal life and have been on my current absence since 2015 but I pop in now and then still to keep up with what's going on still. Most of my experience as a Wikipedian comes from researching and writing articles about new subjects. Although it doesn't seem like I've completed that many, when I do work on an article I put forth allot of effort during the process to do my best to create a good well balanced Wikipedia article.

Since 2011 I have been attending the Great American Wiknic event in Los Angeles California, held each year at Pan-Pacific Park. The LA Meetup picnic gives me a chance to meet real people and to feel like I belong to something, that's much more than just something I do online. If you are new at Wikipedia I encourage you to attend a Wikipedia meetup event and make new friends with the other Wikipedians, it will make your experience editing here that much better.

I was born and raised in Indianapolis, Indiana until I was 15yrs old, spending most of those years in the Lawrence, Indiana area. We had a couple of horses growing up and I enjoyed the changing seasons as a kid and all of my family there, I miss them alot. After the Blizzard of 1978 we then moved to Orange County, California so we could thaw out, I'm still cold even thinking about it 34 years later and I rarely get ice cubes out of the freezer. O.K. I like to be humorous you caught me. But I'm not kidding it was cold!

I started using Wikipedia for self "study" starting in 2002 and after seven years of reading everything I could learn about, in 2009 I decided I wanted to start somewhere and decided to try and write an article to see if I could accomplish writing one myself. My educational background wasn't up to par per-say growing up, hey I was raised in the 60's what can I say. My first article in Wikipedia was a biography of a living person Michele Weiner-Davis, that took me three months to research and complete.

I found out shortly thereafter that I really enjoyed doing the research part of putting an article together, it's kinda like putting a large puzzle together in a way, piece by piece. I think it's something fun to do when I have free time & I'm still learning new things all the time here at Wikipedia.

I'm not sure I have a great Encyclopedic style like some of the better skilled editors at Wikipedia, I try my best to tell the facts of a story about an article based on what reference material I can find. I do this usually by reading books, searching online and putting things in an oderly manner. My spelling and punctuation is "crude" at best, and I'm constantly having to check and re-check these things, but I've been getting better at it as the years go by.

I usually lay out the sentence or paragraphs I'm going to write about in my sand box and then re-write about what was said and I feel I do a fairly decent job of that part. It takes me 4 to 5 times longer than most skilled Wikipedia editors probably to do the same task, I triple check myself, before I make an edit and it just seems to be a very very slow process for me, when I'm working on an article. Each article takes me from one to three months and I tend to bounce around to different subjects allot. One of my main goals is to someday write an article about the Electric Sun Theory, but it will take me upwards of 6 months to complete it I believe, so I've never started it yet.

Topics I enjoy in real life are Family and Friends, Disneyland, Bowling, Shooting Pool, Computer Golf WGT, Fishing, Diving, Dancing (not good at it but I try left footed), Skateboarding, Basketball i.e. Lakers Fan, Texas Holdem or any other card game, Chess, Ping Pong, Asteroids, Centipede,Project Gutenberg, Famous Quotes & Decorating the house for any type of Holiday, Tinkering with just about anything and actually solving the problem, Responding to people in need and actually being of help.

I like to read books & to study when I can, my favorites are The Bible and any good Fairy Tale (also my other three favorite literary works are The Fisherman's Lady and The Marquis' Secret by George MacDonald 1875 and Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance: An Inquiry into Values by Robert Pirsig 1974 and lastly The Muqaddimah the first Historiography by Ibn Khaldun 1377.

My favorite movies would be The Day the Earth Stood Still, Star Wars, Contact, Avatar, Sherk, Monsters Inc. Dances with Wolves, What the Bleep Do We Know!?, The Matrix, The Holiday, It's a Wonderful Life, Miracle on 34th Street, Notting Hill, Forrest Gump, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, The Fault in Our Stars & Pleasantville.

Some of My Favorite areas of Topic interest in Wikipedia are Mathematics i.e. Statistics and Probability. Philosophy, Sociology, Theology,Law, Oligarchy, Physics, Analogies, Choice Theory, Archaeology, Urban planning, Energy i.e new technologies; Hydrogen, Bloom Energy Server, Superconductor, Plasma and the Flow battery. I also like the Electric Sun Theory (Don't believe there's an artical on this subject) but it's very interesting to me being I’m an electrician and lastly anything to do with History.

One of my favorite instrumentals by an unknown author is located here at the Internet Archives

Quotes I like found with-in Wikipedia

Other Interest I have

f This user maintains a Facebook profile at Tinkermen.



  • Anyone interested in playing with me (Tinkermen) in a round of Golf at World Golf Tour for free may do so by clicking here; (WGT)

Hitting a golf ball at WGT is using your visual analytical prespective and a mathematical analysis in conjunction with time and finger dexterity. Your actual score is irrelevant, online golf at WGT is a game of fun and playtime that is to be enjoyed with each swing of the golf club reguardless of the number of trees you hit or the amount of sand you get in your shoes. If you happen to play with me out on the golf course expect to have some good times because that's why I play...




Crystal Clear app browser.png This user has a website, which can be found here.




I'd like to visit my friend Maia, in Mestia Georgian some day, she is located in (მესტია) a highland townlet in northwest Georgia.


In Rememberence of my friend on Wikipedia User Adrianne Wadewitz

Adrianne Wadewitz

Wikipedia Weekly podcast episode 35
External video
The Impact of Wikipedia - Adrianne Wadewitz retrieved 4/10/2014




Adrianne Wadewitz dies at 37; helped diversify Wikipedia LA Times

Adrianne Wadewitz, 37, Wikipedia Editor, Dies in Rock Climbing Fall NY Times



Stories written about Wikipedia

Doctors’ #1 Source for Healthcare Information: Wikipedia

The Unbearable Bureaucracy of Wikipedia

US states that I have Lived In

I currently live in the US state of California

Have A Nice Day!
I have lived in Orange County California for over 30 years.