Category talk:Vegan cuisine

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

Intended scope[edit]

User:Clarknova has added a stuffed tomatoes recipe to the category.

It looks like a recipe for a very delicious dish, and I'm sure it's vegan, but if only foods that are specifically designed to avoid animal-based ingredients should be included, stuffed tomatoes don't belong here.

If, on the other hand, this category is intended to contain all dishes that can be made without animal-based ingredients, it is very incomplete.

Same goes for the "Vegetarian cuisine" category.

I think there should be some guidelines for what (not) to include.
Wikipeditor 17:48, 8 December 2005 (UTC)

Merging with Category:Vegetarian cuisine[edit]

I think that there is no need to separate vegetarian and vegan cuisines. The foods that vegans do not consume but some vegetarians do are: dairy, eggs, honey, etc. These foods are not a core of vegetarian cuisine, but are just optional, because some vegetarains consume and some (also non vegans) avoid them. Alex ex 11:22, 17 March 2006 (UTC)

I would have to beg to differ. Vegetarianism is not the same as veganism, as your comments themselves imply. ACEOREVIVED (talk) 16:01, 16 May 2012 (UTC)
I also oppose the merger. Yes, all of the vegan food is also vegetarian, but not all vegetarian food is vegan. Peter238 (talk) 22:42, 1 January 2016 (UTC)
I strongly oppose the proposed merger. The two categories are NOT the same. They are NOT identical. One is far stricter than the other. To seek to merge the two could be seen as a form of vandalism. Leave those categories distinct. MaynardClark (talk) 22:52, 1 January 2016 (UTC)