Gun laws in Oregon
|Subject/Law||Long guns||Handguns||Relevant statutes||Notes|
|State permit required to purchase?||No||No||
|Firearm registration?||No||No||ORS 166.412(7)(a)||The Oregon State Police maintain a record of firearms sales from FFL holders for a period of 5 years, after which the records are destroyed.|
|Owner license required?||No||No||
|Minimum age to purchase firearms.||18||21||ORS 166.470||Oregon law prohibits any person from intentionally selling, delivering, or otherwise transferring any firearm to anyone under 18 years of age (ORS 166.470(1)(a)), except:|
|Minors allowed to possess firearms?||Yes, with exceptions||Yes, with exceptions||ORS 166.250||Minors may:
|Assault weapon law?||No||No||
|No Oregon state laws define or regulate assault weapons.|
|License required for concealed carry?||N/A||Yes||ORS 166.291||Oregon is a "shall-issue" state for residents. Technically sheriffs "may issue" licenses to non-residents of contiguous states; however, in practice most county sheriffs either adopt very restrictive criteria for issuance to non-residents or simply refuse to issue licenses. Carrying of a concealed firearm is prohibited by ORS 166.250, however holders of a valid Concealed Handgun License are exempt from this law. (see ORS 166.260).
In 2011, the Oregon Court of Appeals ruled that public universities no longer have the authority to prohibit firearms on their grounds, however may still prohibit them inside buildings. This effectively legalized campus carry on grounds.
|License required for open carry?||No||No||Or. Const. Art. I § 27
|Open carry of firearms is legal statewide without a permit.
However, Oregon law allows a city or county to regulate open carry of loaded firearms in public places, but holders of concealed carry permits are exempt. (ORS 166.173) The cities of Portland, Beaverton, Tigard, Oregon City, Salem, and Independence, as well as Multnomah County, have statutes which do not allow open carry of loaded firearms (unless one has a concealed carry permit).
|State preemption of local restrictions?||Yes||Yes||Or. Const. Art. I § 27
|The authority to regulate the sale, acquisition, transfer, ownership, possession, storage, transportation, or use of firearms or any element relating to firearms and firearm components, including ammunition, is vested solely in the State Legislative Assembly.|
|NFA weapons restricted?||No||No||ORS 166.272||Possession of NFA restricted firearms and non-firearm items is legal, but owners must comply with the NFA regulations. (ORS 166.272(3))|
|Peaceable journey laws?||Yes||Yes||
|The State of Oregon recognizes federal law, Title 18 U.S. Code § 926A|
|Background checks required for private sales?||Yes||Yes||SB941 (2015)||Private party firearm transfers must be conducted through a licensed firearm dealer while both parties are present. The dealer is required by federal law to conduct a background check and keep a record of the sale.|
|Red flag law?||Yes||Yes||Or. Law Chp. 737 (2017)||If a person appears to be in imminent danger of hurting themselves or another person, a police officer or a member of the person's family or household may petition the court for a one-year order that would prohibit the person from possessing a deadly weapon.|
Concealed and open carry
Oregon is a shall-issue concealed-carry state. and is notable for having very few restrictions on where a concealed firearm may be carried. Oregon also has statewide preemption for its concealed-carry laws—with limited exceptions, counties and cities cannot place limits on the ability of people to carry concealed weapons beyond those provided by state law.
There is one possible exception to the "shall issue" state. The concealed-carry license is issued by each county's sheriff, and is valid statewide. The sheriff is given personal discretion if that sheriff "has reasonable grounds to believe that the applicant has been or is reasonably likely to be a danger to self or others." There is no pure definition of what that reason must be. For instance it might be a statement from another law enforcement officer about an individual, and that statement might come from personal acquaintance. The burden, and perhaps the right to recover damages would then be on the applicant.
There is no reciprocity with other states' concealed handgun licenses. Individuals wanting to carry a concealed handgun in Oregon will need an Oregon Concealed Handgun License.
Oregon is also an open-carry state, but cities and counties are free to limit public possession of loaded firearms by individuals who do not have an Oregon Concealed Handgun License. The cities of Portland, Beaverton, Tigard, Oregon City, Salem, and Independence, as well as Multnomah County have banned loaded firearms in all public places for those without a license.
In Oregon, firearm owners can be held liable in civil court if a firearms injury is caused by negligence, and can be held responsible for damages in a wrongful death claim if the firearm is used to kill someone.
If a person appears to be a risk to themselves or to others, a police officer or the person's family or household member may petition the court for a one-year extreme risk protection order that would prohibit the person from possessing a deadly weapon. If a judge finds clear and convincing evidence that the person is in imminent danger of hurting themselves or another person, the respondent would have 24 hours to surrender all deadly weapons.
It is illegal for someone to possess a firearm if they are under 18 years of age, were convicted of a felony, were convicted by a juvenile court of a crime which, if committed by an adult, would constitute a felony or a violent misdemeanor, were found to be mentally ill and were committed by the Department of Human Services, or are subject to an order from the Department of Human Services prohibiting them from possessing a firearm for mental health reasons. Unlawful possession of a firearm is a Class A misdemeanor.
|Subject/Law||Long guns||Handguns||Relevant statutes||Notes|
|Black Bear & Cougar||.22 cal or larger centerfire||.22 cal or larger centerfire|
|Pronghorn||.22 cal or larger centerfire||.22 cal or larger centerfire|
|Buck Deer||.22 cal or larger centerfire||.22 cal or larger centerfire|
|Elk||.24 cal or larger centerfire||.24 cal or larger centerfire|
|Bighorn Sheep & Rocky Mountain Goat||.24 cal or larger centerfire||.24 cal or larger centerfire|
|Western Gray Squirrel||Any||Any|
- Handgun purchase minimum age limit is controlled by federal law.
- November 06, Shane Dixon Kavanaugh | Posted; November 06, 2018 at 09:16 PM | Updated; PM, 2018 at 09:28. "Militia groups help gun rights measure pass in 8 Oregon counties". OregonLive.com. Retrieved 2019-03-09.
- City of Portland Code, Chapter 14A.60 Weapons and Explosives.
- City of Beaverton Charter, Chapter 5.08.240.
- City of Tigard Municipal Code, 7.32.125.
- Oregon City Code of Ordinances, 9.24.020.
- Salem Revised Code, 95.095.
- Independence Code of Ordinances, Sec. 18-231(b).
- Multnomah County Ordinance No. 1203, 15.064.
- ORS 166.291
- See ORS 166.360–180
- See ORS 166.170–176
- See 166.293 (2).
- Concealed Handgun, License to Carry, Oregon Licenses, Permits, and Registrations
- See 166.250(3)
- ORS 166.173
- Multnomah County Firearms Ordinance
- Oregon, OpenCarry.org
- Or. Const. Art. I, § 27. Archived 2007-02-05 at the Wayback Machine
- Loew, Tracy (July 6, 2017). "Oregon Legislature Passes Bill to Take Guns from Suicidal People". Statesman Journal. Retrieved February 28, 2018.
- "ORS 166.250" (PDF). Retrieved 20 April 2014.