DJ-Kicks

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

DJ-Kicks (typeset DJ-KiCKS on all cover artwork) is a series of DJ mix albums, mixed by various artists for the independent record label !K7 Records.

History[edit]

DJ-Kicks started out in 1995 as a compilation of electronic DJ club-style mixes in the techno or house genres, with the then-novel twist of being targeted to a home listening audience. Soon afterwards, both the choice of compilers and the genres included were expanded: In addition to DJs, more and more producers (like Terranova), remixers (like Kruder & Dorfmeister), bands (like the Stereo MCs) and musicians (like Nicolette) compiled DJ-Kicks albums. The actual music began to vary wildly as well, ranging from Trüby Trio's downbeat jazz sound to Kemistry & Storm's aggressive drum and bass. Still, all contributions remain broadly within the electronic music genre.

The first DJ-Kicks release was C.J. Bolland's in 1995, and the series is still regularly expanded. As of October 2012, there are 44 releases in the series, with a release rate of roughly two to three new ones each year. Some of the DJ-Kicks mixes are very popular and counted among the regular albums of the compiler, most notably the one by Kruder & Dorfmeister. The DJ-Kicks series has been called "the most important DJ-mix series ever" by Mixmag. The 26th release was a special celebratory (and unmixed) "best of" compilation, DJ-Kicks: The Exclusives. It consisted of original tracks by the DJs who had mixed the earlier albums in the series.

DJ-Kicks releases[edit]

Album Number Artist Released Catalogue Number Website
1 DJ-Kicks: C.J. Bolland C.J. Bolland 4 September 1995  !K7038CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/c-j-bolland-dj-kicks/
2 DJ-Kicks: Carl Craig Carl Craig 25 March 1996  !K7042CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/carl-craig-dj-kicks/
3 DJ-Kicks: Claude Young Claude Young 3 June 1996  !K7045CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/claude-young-dj-kicks/
4 DJ-Kicks: Kruder & Dorfmeister Kruder & Dorfmeister 19 August 1996  !K7046CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/kruder-dorfmeister-dj-kicks/
5 DJ-Kicks: Stacey Pullen Stacey Pullen 14 October 1996  !K7049CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/stacey-pullen-dj-kicks/
6 DJ-Kicks: Nicolette Nicolette 10 March 1997  !K7054CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/nicolette-dj-kicks/
7 DJ-Kicks: The Black Album Rockers Hi-Fi 19 May 1997  !K7056CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/rockers-hi-fi-dj-kicks/
8 DJ-Kicks: DJ Cam DJ Cam 18 November 1997  !K7060CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/dj-cam-dj-kicks/
9 DJ-Kicks: Terranova Terranova 19 January 1998  !K7064CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/terranova-dj-kicks/
10 DJ-Kicks: Smith & Mighty Smith & Mighty 9 March 1998  !K7065CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/smith-mighty-dj-kicks/
11 DJ-Kicks: Andrea Parker Andrea Parker 31 August 1998  !K7071CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/andrea-parker-dj-kicks/
12 DJ-Kicks: Kemistry & Storm Kemistry & Storm 25 January 1999  !K7074CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/kemistry-storm-dj-kicks/
13 DJ-Kicks: Thievery Corporation Thievery Corporation 10 May 1999  !K7076CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/thievery-corporation-dj-kicks/
14 DJ-Kicks: Kid Loco Kid Loco 18 October 1999  !K7081CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/kid-loco-dj-kicks/
15 DJ-Kicks: Stereo MCs Stereo MCs 27 March 2000  !K7082CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/stereo-mcs-dj-kicks/
16 DJ-Kicks: Nightmares on Wax Nightmares on Wax 2 October 2000  !K7093CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/nightmares-on-wax-dj-kicks/
17 DJ-Kicks: Trüby Trio Trüby Trio 27 August 2001  !K7104CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/truby-trio-dj-kicks/
18 DJ-Kicks: Vikter Duplaix Vikter Duplaix 28 January 2002  !K7115CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/vikter-duplaix-dj-kicks/
19 DJ-Kicks: Playgroup Playgroup 1 July 2002  !K7127CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/playgroup-dj-kicks/
20 DJ-Kicks: Tiga Tiga 1 December 2002  !K7142CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/tiga-dj-kicks/
21 DJ-Kicks: Chicken Lips Chicken Lips 3 November 2003  !K7155CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/chicken-lips-dj-kicks/
22 DJ-Kicks: Erlend Øye Erlend Øye 19 April 2004  !K7161CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/erlend-oye-dj-kicks/
23 DJ-Kicks: Daddy G Daddy G (of Massive Attack) 25 October 2004  !K7170CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/daddy-g-dj-kicks/
24 DJ-Kicks: The Glimmers The Glimmers 11 April 2005  !K7178CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/the-glimmers-dj-kicks/
25 DJ-Kicks: Annie Annie 17 October 2005  !K7190CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/annie-dj-kicks/
26 DJ-Kicks: The Exclusives unmixed DJ-Kicks artist compilation 27 February 2006  !K7200CD
27 DJ-Kicks: Four Tet Four Tet 26 June 2006  !K7203CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/four-tet-dj-kicks/
28 DJ-Kicks: Henrik Schwarz Henrik Schwarz 16 October 2006  !K7207CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/henrikschwarz
29 DJ-Kicks: Hot Chip Hot Chip 21 May 2007  !K7213CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/hotchip
30 DJ-Kicks: Booka Shade Booka Shade 22 October 2007  !K7222CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/bookashade
31 DJ-Kicks: Chromeo Chromeo 28 September 2009  !K7247CD http://www.chromeo-djkicks.com/
32 DJ-Kicks: Juan Maclean Juan Maclean April 2010  !K7255CD http://www.juanmaclean-djkicks.com/
33 DJ-Kicks: James Holden James Holden 25 May 2010  !K7261CD http://www.jamesholden-djkicks.com/
34 DJ-Kicks: Kode9 Kode9 22 June 2010  !K7262CD http://www.kode9-djkicks.com/
35 DJ-Kicks: Apparat Apparat 25 October 2010  !K7270CD http://www.apparat-djkicks.com/
36 DJ-Kicks: Wolf + Lamb vs Soul Clap Wolf + Lamb, Soul Clap 15 March 2011  !K7283CD http://www.wolfandlamb-soulclap-djkicks.com/
37 DJ-Kicks: Motor City Drum Ensemble Motor City Drum Ensemble July 2011  !K7285CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/motor-city-drum-ensemble-dj-kicks/
38 DJ-Kicks: Scuba Scuba 17 October 2011  !K7291CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/scuba-dj-kicks/
39 DJ-Kicks: Gold Panda Gold Panda 7 November 2011  !K7292CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/goldpanda-dj-kicks/
40 DJ-Kicks: The Exclusives unmixed DJ-Kicks artist compilation 5 March 2012  !K7300CD
41 DJ-Kicks: Photek Photek 26 March 2012  !K7293CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/photek-dj-kicks/
42 DJ-Kicks: Maya Jane Coles Maya Jane Coles 16 April 2012  !K7295CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/mayajanecoles-dj-kicks/
43 DJ-Kicks: Digitalism Digitalism 16 April 2012  !K7298CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/digitalism-dj-kicks/
44 DJ-Kicks: Hercules and Love Affair Hercules and Love Affair 26 October 2012  !K7301CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/herculesandloveaffair/
45 DJ-Kicks: Maceo Plex Maceo Plex 29 April 2013  !K7306CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/maceoplex/
46 DJ-Kicks: John Talabot John Talabot 8 November 2013  !K7312CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/johntalabot/
47 DJ-Kicks: Breach Breach 15 November 2013  !K7314CD http://www.dj-kicks.com/breach/
48 DJ-Kicks: Brandt Brauer Frick Brandt Brauer Frick 21 February 2014 K7311CD/K7311LP/K7311DTM http://www.dj-kicks.com/tag/brandt-brauer-frick/

Similar DJ series[edit]

References[edit]

External links[edit]