Web 2.0 Suicide Machine

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

The Web 2.0 Suicide Machine is a service that helps users tired of Facebook, MySpace, LinkedIn and Twitter, to "commit suicide in social networks", by automatically "removing their private content and friend relationships", (but without deleting or deactivating their accounts).[1][2][3][4][5] The service is part of the non-profit foundation WORM, based in Rotterdam, Netherlands.[2]

The "Web 2.0 Suicide Machine" has, as of January 2010, assisted with more than 1,000 virtual deaths, ending more than 80,500 friendships on Facebook and removing 276,000 tweets from Twitter.[6]

How it works[edit]

Rather than deleting user accounts, it removes private content and friendships. To start the suicide process, the user has to provide their login credential for the social network from which they want to be deleted, and then "watch your life passing by and reflect upon your real & virtual friends", while private content and friend relationships are removed. In the end the user is included in a memorial album of all the suicides, with their profile picture, their name and their "last words".[1]

Capabilities[edit]

"Web 2.0 Suicide Machine" has listed the functions of which the service is capable thus far as the following:[1]

The Facebook option is no longer available on Web 2.0 Suicide Machine as Facebook sent a cease and desist (C&D) letter on January 6, 2010 demanding that suicidemachine.org stop their actions.[7]

Facebook
  • Changing your password and your profile picture
  • Excluding your account from public search
  • Removing all email notifications
  • Removing all your friends
  • Removing all groups you were member of
  • Removing all your wall posts (beta)
  • Joining the group "Social Network Suiciders"
  • Logging out
LinkedIn
  • Logging into your account
  • Changing your password and your profile picture
  • Removing all your business connections
  • Logging out
Myspace
  • Logging into your account
  • Removing all your friends
  • Leaving a status message that you've committed suicide
  • Logging out
Twitter
  • Logging into your account
  • Changing your password and your profile picture
  • Removing all people you follow
  • Removing all your followers
  • Removing all your tweets
  • Logging out

Controversy[edit]

On January 2010, Facebook managed to block the service for a short time[3] and sent a cease and desist letter from its lawyers,.[2] The service remained up and running, but the website has since ceased operation. Its creators "consider this project as a piece of socio-political net art".[2]

See also[edit]

References[edit]

  1. ^ a b c "Web2.0 Suicide Machine - Meet your Real Neighbours again! - Sign out forever!". Suicide Machine. Suicide Machine. Retrieved 28 May 2012. 
  2. ^ a b c d McNamara, Paul. "Buzzblog: Facebook unleashes lawyers on Web 2.0 Suicide Machine". Paul McNamara. Network World. Retrieved 28 May 2012. 
  3. ^ a b "''Facebook blocks 'Web 2.0 Suicide Machine'''". Networkworld.com. Retrieved 2012-02-27. 
  4. ^ Yan, Sophia (2010-01-19). "Web 2.0 Suicide Machine: How to Quit Facebook, Twitter". TIME. Retrieved 2012-02-27. 
  5. ^ Jardin, Xeni (2010-01-11). "Facebook blocks "Web 2.0 Suicide Machine," now a cease-and-desist reported". Boing Boing. Retrieved 2012-02-27. 
  6. ^ Yan, Sophia (2010-01-19). "Web 2.0 Suicide Machine: How to Quit Facebook, Twitter". TIME. Retrieved 2012-02-27. 
  7. ^ "Facebook C&D letter" (PDf). suicidemachine.org. 

External links[edit]