Wikipedia:WikiProject India/Peer review

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Flag of India.svg WikiProject India
General info. (edit · changes)



India article statistics

This list is generated automatically every night around 3 AM UTC.

This table is now up to date again.
It is updated by a tool on the toolserver; it will not work if the toolserver is
having problems. If this chart is showing much more than zero,
then the table will be updated slowly or not at all.

Shortcut:

IMPORTANT: If you wish to make a peer-review request, please follow the instructions here.

The peer review department of the India WikiProject conducts peer review of articles on request. The primary objective is to encourage better articles by having contributors who may not have worked on articles to examine them and provide ideas for further improvement.

The peer review process is highly flexible and can deal with articles of any quality; however, requesting reviews on very short articles may not be productive, as there is little for readers to comment on.

All reviews are conducted by fellow editors—usually members of the India WikiProject. While there is a general intent to expand this process to allow for review by subject experts, the preparations for this are not yet complete.

Contents

Instructions[edit]

Requesting a review[edit]

If you wish to request for a review, you need to follow the following steps.

  1. Go to the article you wish to nominate for peer review, then click on the "talk page" tab, then click on the "edit this page" tab.
  2. At the top, you should find the {{WP India}} project banner which looks something like {{WP India|class=|importance=}}
  3. Add peer-review=yes to the banner so that it looks like code>{{WP India|class=|importance=|peer-review=yes}} (see the project banner instructions if you need more details)
  4. Click on the "save page" button.
  5. Click on the "request has been made" link that appears in the WikiProject India banner now. This will open a (new) page to discuss the review of your article.
  6. Place === [[Name of nominated article]] === at the top. Below it, write your reason for nominating the article and sign your request by using four tildes (~~~~).
  7. Go to the list of requests, and click the "edit" tab. Add {{Wikipedia:WikiProject India/Peer review/Name of nominated article}} at the top of the requests, and click on the "save page" button.
  8. Check regularly to see if your article has been peer-reviewed, so that you can see the comments given, and be sure to thank any editors who have spent their time and effort peer-reviewing your article. Make any of the suggested changes in your article.
  9. If you have received no response to your peer-review request for quite some time, feel free to contact one of the bolded members of the WikiProject India peer-review department, listed at the bottom of these instructions.

Responding to a request[edit]

Everyone is encouraged to comment on any request listed here. To comment on an article, please add a new section (using ==== [[User:Your name|Your name]] ====) for your comments, in order to keep multiple responses legible. Make sure to sign your requests too by using four tildes (~~~~).

Archiving[edit]

Reviews should be archived after they have been inactive for some time, but must have had at least 1 peer review. However, at least 2 different peer-reviews (by at least 2 different editors) is ideal. Reviews can also be archived if the article has been successful as a featured article candidate.

To archive:

  1. Replace peer-review=yes with old-peer-review=yes in the {{WP India}} project banner template at the top of the article's talk page
  2. Move {{Wikipedia:WikiProject India/Peer review/Name of nominated article}} from this page to the current archive page.

Peer-reviews that have been conducted prior to this year can be found at the 2006 WikiProject India peer-review and 2007 WikiProject India peer-review pages.

Peer-review Team[edit]

If you would like to join the peer-review team, please add your name below. Members of the team who are bolded (below) are currently active members of the peer review team and are likely to peer-review articles, and answer any queries you have in relation to their peer review. Particularly if you have received no response for some time on your peer-review request, please feel free to contact the members that are bolded and listed here.

  1. Hinduway (talk · contribs)
  2. Anupam (talk · contribs)
  3. Bakasuprman (talk · contribs)
  4. DaGizza (talk · contribs)
  5. Faizhaider (talk · contribs)
  6. Ganeshk (talk · contribs)
  7. Kanchanamala (talk · contribs)
  8. Kensplanet (talk · contribs)
  9. Ncmvocalist (talk · contribs)
  10. Nickelroy (talk · contribs)
  11. Nishant_shobhit (talk · contribs)
  12. RegentsPark (talk · contribs)
  13. Rohit_klar (talk · contribs)
  14. Sachinvenga (talk · contribs)
  15. Salilb (talk · contribs)
  16. Tinucherian (talk · contribs)
  17. Legolas2186 (talk · contribs) - developing any new film article with all the news, neutral reviews and rearranging according to WP:FILM
  18. Redtigerxyz (talk · contribs)
  19. Datlaravivarma (talk · contribs)
  20. Rijz (talk · contribs)
  21. SASSOTO (talk · contribs)- Articles related to Indian History or Culture.
  22. CA B Vijaya Kumar (talk · contribs)-Indian economy, Andhra Pradesh, Accounts, Audit, Finance and taxation

Requests[edit]

India and the United Nations[edit]

Most of the work regarding peacekeeping missions and history of India-UN is done. UNGA, UNSC require more inputs, working on it. The article has been improved with considerable amount of references. I request an assessment for the same. Your valuable inputs will be appreciated. This is the first time I have edited an article on such a massive scale so please be gentle and inform of any improvements required by me. Finally figured how to enable peer review. Great Relief. aze0098(talk) jthomas91 04:32, 9 February 2014 (UTC)

Tirumalai Krishnamacharya[edit]

Requesting a peer review to improve this article. Ewj001 (talk) 18:04, 28 April 2013 (UTC)

Bangalore Medical College and Research Institute[edit]

A lot of new information has been added to the article in the past one month or so and the quality of the aricle has significantly improved. I would request the editors to please do a thorough peer-review and provide any more suggestions for the improvement of the article. Thanks! nishantgopal 06:42, 4 November 2012 (UTC)

Tourism in West Bengal[edit]

I want a peer-review of my article as it was nominated as FAC but was declined and I am thinking of nominating it for GA. --Tamravidhir(২০১২) 13:31, 4 August 2012 (UTC)

Madurai[edit]

Hi Reviewers, I am planning to push this for WP:GA. Please provide your review comments on the same. Ssriram mt (talk) 15:37, 1 July 2012 (UTC) Lead

  • " The capital of the Pandyan kingdom was initially Korkai, around 600 BCE,[7] and was later moved to Koodal (now Madurai) during the reign of Nedunj Cheliyan I.[8]" State only from when to when was it the capital. No need for info about the capital before Madurai
    • Yes check.svg Done
  • IMO, nicknames are not needed in leda
    • Yes check.svg Done.
  • can a better lead image be used. May be a montage like in Mumbai
    • Yes check.svg Done.
  • Standardize: BC or BCE (AD/CE): 600 BCE v/s 3rd century BC
    • Yes check.svg Done.
  • "the city is mentioned by Megasthenes, the Greek ambassador to India and Kautilya, the minister of the Mauryan Emperor Chandragupta Maurya" add dates of persons
    • Yes check.svg Done.
  • how is " which established the province of Ma'bar which later became independent as the Ma'bar Sultanate" relevant to Madurai? Was Madurai part of Ma'bar? Link Ma'bar to appropriate article
    • Yes check.svg Done - yes.
  • Link Madurai Nayak kingdom
    • Yes check.svg Done - linked in earlier para.
  • Lead history stops at 1801, one needs to take it to the present. See Mumbai. Same case with "History" section
    • Yes check.svg Done

Etymology

  • Make paras based on current name. Historical names and nick names
    • Each name has a one liner description and feel it is not required to have separate sections.
  • "A leading theory for the etymology of Madurai is the derivative from Madhura (Sweetness) when Shiva blessed the land by showering divine nectar on the city from his matted locks"
      • Yes check.svg Done
    • Madurai should be in italics as word Madurai is discussed
      • Yes check.svg Done
    • explain who is Shiva? Hindu god
      • Yes check.svg Done
    • explicitly say it is a tradition/legend
  • Copyediting is needed
    • "Another popular theory is the derivative of the word Marutham, which refers to the type of landscape of the Sangam age. " Another popular theory is that Madurai is the derivative of the word Marutham ...
      • Yes check.svg Done
    • "Historically, the birthplace of Hindu god Krishna, Mathura," -> the Hindu god Krishna. Also, need balance the POV that Hindu scriptures say Mathura was birthplace of Krishna, not historical documents
      • Yes check.svg Done
  • Ref 16 is not a reliable ref for the Thoonga Nagaram claim. It may be only this director's given name
removed the ref. will find alternative.

Redtigerxyz Talk 12:57, 13 July 2012 (UTC)

Indore[edit]

This article has become too damn confusing, is why I am requesting a peer-review. When compared to say, Mumbai it is much to cluttered. Also there exist separate articles for Indore Junction,Indore District and Indore Division; which I think should come under one article. Thank you for the review in advance! --Harsh Mujhse baat kijiye(Talk)(Contribs) 16:30, 12 June 2012 (UTC)

Rameswaram[edit]

Hi Wiki Peer Reviewers, Greetings. Could you please review the article available and let me know your thoughts. Ssriram mt (talk) 14:26, 9 June 2012 (UTC)

Considering WP:GA?: Comments based on lead, History, In news and popular culture, refugees, Pilgrimage

  • Remove all honorifics like Lord, Bhagwaan, Maharishi, Swami
- YesYremoved
  • Lead has some WP:UNDUE info. "The Ramanathaswamy Temple at the centre of the city has the longest corridor among all Hindu temples in India". This "longest" part is not needed. What is needed is that the temple is dedicated to Shiva and is associated with Rama
- YesYcorrected.
- YesYremoved
  • According to Ramayana, -> According to the Ramayana,(italicize texts)
- YesYcorrected
  • God Vishnu -> the god Vishnu.
- YesYcorrected
  • "History" is a POV. Should be "Legend"
- YesYcorrected
  • "Rameswaram is significant for many Indians as a pilgrimage to Varanasi" -> for Hindus
- YesYcorrected.
  • "In news and popular culture" is too much WP:RECENTISM. Thirukumaran Nadesan incident is UNDUE.
- YesYcorrected. In news taken up with other merging.
  • Remove gallery. Not in accordance of WP:GALLERY.
- YesYremoved
  • Chota Char Dham is UNDUE here. Remove
- YesYremoved
  • "Support for this account may be found in some of the later versions of the Ramayana, such as those penned by Swami Tulasidas (15th Century) and others":
    • "may be": uncertainty. It is found or it is not found. I can't understand why "may" is asked.
    • wordy: change to -> This account is found in some of the later versions of the Ramayana, such as those by Tulasidas (15th Century).
- YesYremoved
  • WP:OVERLINK: common words like town, pilgrim are linked. Remove such links
- YesYremoved
  • IMO "Sri Lankan Tamil Refugees" and "In news and popular culture" should be merged into something like "Interaction with Sri Lanka"
  • " the fishermen issues like attack, arrest, harassment by Sri Lankan navy for alleged cross border activities" Highly anti-Lanka POV. The ref is Indian, thus biased. Neutralize using "alleged harassment" etc.
- YesYmodified and added SL side of the issue. While the subject is highly controversial, 381 out of a community of 10k necessiates retaining one of the top topics of the town.
  • Bhagwaan Ram v/s Rama: standardize spellings
- YesYmodified.
- YesYmodified.
  • "The Tamil Nadu state ranks numbers one in terms of foreign tourists to India"
    • A copyedit for grammar is needed
    • Not supported by ref: "Currently, the State ranks second in number of foreign tourists arrival into the State and third in domestic arrivals"
  • the Puranas (the historical records of ancient India): highly questionable description. May be regarded as WP:POV. Replace with neutral "Hindu scriptures"
- YesY replaced.
  • WP:JARGON: explain jargon like Jyotirlinga, linga, Ramayana. Add short description. eg. the Hindu epic Ramayana, linga - the aniconic symbol of Shiva
- YesY replaced.
  • Mention a line or two about all major temples/religious sites like Ramarpaadham temple, Lakshamana Theertam etc.
- YesY added.
  • A section of the temple is needed. (Broad in coverage criterion)
- YesY added.
  • Accuracy: "The name "Rameswaram", roughly translated in English as place where Ram worshipped Shiva." Rameswara means Lord of Rama in Sanskrit, an epithet of Shiva, the presiding deity of the Ramanathaswamy Temple
- YesY modified.

--Redtigerxyz

The religion, utility services, interactions with Srilanka sections have been widely expanded. The reference structure has also been cleaned up to standards. Copy editing and lead portion expansion is remaining. Ssriram mt (talk) 03:42, 27 June 2012 (UTC)
The lead is expanded, over link is reduced and the other portions like see also have been trimmed. Can this be taken to the next level.Ssriram mt (talk) 00:14, 28 June 2012 (UTC)

MicroFinance Institutions Network[edit]

Hi Wiki Peer Reviewers, Greetings.

Could you please review the article and share your thoughts - and making it a better reference ?

Regards Almithra (talk) 18:52, 28 April 2012 (UTC)

User talk:Almithra/Muthanga Incident[edit]

Hi Wiki Peer Reviewers,
Greetings.

Could you please review the article available and let me know your thoughts/comments.

--Regards Almithra (talk) 21:06, 21 April 2012 (UTC)

Sadhujana Paripalana Sangham[edit]

Hi Wiki Peer Reviewers,
Greetings.

Could you please review the article available and let me know your thoughts. I am going through journals for adding more details to the page.


Almithra (talk) 20:59, 21 April 2012 (UTC)

1997 Ramabai Ambedkar Incident[edit]

Hi Wiki Peer Reviewers,
Greetings.

Could you please review the article available and let me know your thoughts. I will try to get details as I could and revert back.

Almithra (talk) 20:44, 21 April 2012 (UTC)

South Asian numbering system[edit]

Rating can be higher. Any references to usage of terms after padma? -Azykwv (talk) 20:10, 21 January 2012 (UTC)

Jana Gana Mana[edit]

An earlier rating of the article Jana Gana Mana gave it a 'Start-Class' rating. However, many modifications have been made since then and many disputes regarding NPOV and citations rectified too. A response to the assessment- page has been given and should be taken notice of. This article is of Top-importance for WikiProject India being the National Anthem of India and the contributors are committed to improving its quality to GA or A Class. Suggestions to achieve that should be made by the reviewer if it has still not received that quality. SASSOTO (talk) 09:41, 14 August 2011 (UTC)

Indian National Army[edit]

The content is too large. RohG ??· 05:03, 12 August 2011 (UTC)

Johny Mera Naam[edit]

I would like to know how to improve on this article, and also need help on where to place the references. I expanded the article by adding the sypnosis, cast and soundtrack, and also added some references.Fireblazex3 (talk) 06:26, 31 July 2011 (UTC)

Comments of Bill william compton:

Lead
  • As it's a Hindi film then add its Hindi name also, using ({{lang-hi|''name of film in Hindi''}}) template.
  • Also add meaning of its title in English using same template (just replace hi with en).
  • "is a 1970 Indian Hindi movie", don't start like this; start the lead like is a 1970 Indian thriller/horror/comedy/drama/romantic/etc film.
  • "Directed by Vijay Anand", merge it with previously mentioned sentence.
  • Mention name of producer after director, like produced by.
  • "Film poster", in spite of it I would prefer theatrical release poster.
  • We generally don't use "movie" in articles, replace with film.
Sypnosis
  • Due to the copyright violation I've blanked the section. As you seem to be unaware of such policy, I'm not giving you formal warning. Write whole summary by yourself, in your language which shouldn't match with IMDB.
Cast
  • Don't use those "...", replace with as, like Hema Malini as Rekha.
Soundtrack
  • Replace "song" with Title.
  • It would be better if you mention the length of each song, under the same heading.
  • Remove parenthesis around s ("(s)").
External links
  • External links section come after References.
References
  • Except boxofficeindia.com no other source is reliable enough to use as reference.
  • Cite the sources.
Infobox
  • Wikilink the Trimurti Films, remove pvt. ltd, etc as we never write them within article.
  • Wikilink the Prasad Studios.
  • Add "Budget" and "Box office" etc attributes.
I hope this would be enough for a stub class article. — Bill william comptonTalk 11:15, 31 July 2011 (UTC)

Chiranjeevi[edit]

The article was expanded and I removed a lot of POV commentary and non-reliable sources. The article is now been cited using reliable sources. --Commander (Ping Back) 08:36, 12 June 2011 (UTC)

Mohanlal[edit]

  • Expanded the article considerably
  • Added sources wherever I could find one
  • Rewrote most of it

Please provide feedback. Shekure (talk) 09:12, 29 May 2011 (UTC)

2011 Indian anti-corruption movement[edit]

This is a highly trnding topic and should be peer reviewed to know the progress made. GaneshBhakt (talk) 07:21, 8 May 2011 (UTC)

S. P. Balasubrahmanyam[edit]

Article has been cleaned up and expanded few months ago. Deserves atleast a C-class. Thalapathi (Ping Back) 11:37, 27 April 2011 (UTC)

Comments from Ravichandar84

  • The textual part of the article is extremely small. Most of the article is made of lists. Please expand the textual part a bit more.
  • As per WP:MOS, the lead section should completely summarize the article.
  • Sources are extremely few. Claims like "Balasubrahmanyan has a daughter Pallavi and a son S. P. B. Charan" should be properly sourced.
  • Sources should be reliable. I am not sure if Aristopia.com, Networkbase.info and 600024.com are reliable. It will be better if you consult someone about the sources. Meanwhile, I feel that most of the links you have added to "Futher reading" can be used as sources for further expansion of the article.
Green tickY Done

If atleast two or three of these concerns are addressed, I think the article should be good enough for a C-class. Regards. -The EnforcerOffice of the secret service 12:38, 2 May 2011 (UTC)

Thank you Ravi!! Even I was thinking of using the links which are used in "External links" as sources. There is still a lot to deal with article. --Thalapathi (Ping Back) 13:31, 2 May 2011 (UTC)

No, not "External Links"! I am referring to "Further reading" section.-The EnforcerOffice of the secret service 14:12, 2 May 2011 (UTC)
Yeah I was referring to "Further Reading" section. Just a small confusion. --Thalapathi (Ping Back) 15:42, 2 May 2011 (UTC)

Rajinikanth[edit]

Expanded the article a bit after GA and added more reliable sources. I'm planning to make it a FA someday. Thalapathi (Ping Back) 12:07, 27 April 2011 (UTC)

Dattopant Thengadi[edit]

This article was very short and was not in good condition. I totally re-write the article and now it is of good quality. Hinduway (talk) 15:01, 19 February 2011 (UTC)

Pakala, Prakasam[edit]

I have updated Pakala village information at Pakala, Prakasamwith the details that are collected in the Summer of 2010. I would like to get the wiki content reviewed and get feedback on format and any other improvements. Maheedharg (talk) 05:22, 16 February 2011 (UTC)

Institute of Chartered Accountants of India[edit]

The above article has expanded a lot during the past one week. I propose to nominate the article for Good Article assessment. But before doing so, in order to go through the assessment process smoothly, I would like to know any weakneses that exist in the article so that it can be corrected before being nominated for Good Article assessment. Please suggest improvements to the article so that it becomes a Good Article. R.Sivanesh 08:40, 23 January 2011 (UTC) Wikipedia:WikiProject India/Peer review/1961 Annexation of Goa

K. Subrahmanyam[edit]

Article expanded substantially from stub, with copious and reliable references. Adheres to print encyclopedia/paper standards - hopefully. Crucial to Indian foreign policy and military history, especially nuclear program. Suggestions welcome Jokester99 (talk) 19:16, 10 May 2009 (UTC)Jokester99, May 10, 2009

Good work, I can't find much fault in the content, but it would be good if you checked some refs and the styles of refs. I am referring to Refs 61,66, 68 (a dead link).
Also, if you could find something more about his personal life, it would be better. Lynch7 17:29, 5 July 2011 (UTC)

Indian Air Force[edit]

Previous Peer Review (2009)

We made quite a few changes and wanted to hear about other contributers' comments so that we can get it to GA or A status. Sumanch (talk) 18:41, 4 July 2010 (UTC)


AustralianRupert[edit]

I can see that a lot of effort has been put into this article so far. These are my suggestions for improvements to the article:

  • According to the Featured article tools there are two disambig links that should be fixed: [1];
Yes check.svg DoneSumanch (talk) 20:37, 5 July 2010 (UTC)
  • the final sentence in the Mission section needs a citation;
Found a citation for assistance during natural disasters. Couldn't find one for assistance to maintain internal security. --Gremaldin (talk) 09:49, 7 July 2010 (UTC)
  • in the History section, you have the abbrievation "RAF" (for Royal Air Force), but haven't introduced the abbrievation yet. Thus, I feel here you should replace "RAF" with "Royal Air Force (RAF)";
Didn't see any such use, may be it was fixed. Sumanch (talk) 22:01, 5 July 2010 (UTC)
  • there is a mixture of terminology, e.g in the lead you have "World War II" then later in the History section you have "Second World War";
Yes check.svg DoneSumanch (talk) 22:05, 5 July 2010 (UTC)
  • the final sentence in the first paragraph of the History section needs a citation ("After the war, they were interned..."
  • in the final sentence of the first paragraph of the History section "allies" should be capitalised as it is a proper noun, while "Couter-martialed" shouldn't be as it isn't;
Yes check.svg DoneSumanch (talk) 22:05, 5 July 2010 (UTC)
  • in the History section, I think you should break up the paragraph beginning with "The IAF saw significant conflict" - I think you should split it at the end of the sentence ending with "when the UN mission ended";
Yes check.svg Done Sumanch (talk) 00:50, 7 July 2010 (UTC)
  • in the History section, this sentence needs a citation: "At the same time, the IAF also started inducting Mach 2 capable Soviet MiG-21 and Sukhoi Su-7 fighters."
Yes check.svg DoneSumanch (talk) 20:37, 5 July 2010 (UTC)
  • the last part of the Bases section needs a citation;
Yes check.svg Done --Gremaldin (talk) 05:52, 7 July 2010 (UTC)
  • the first paragraph in the Squadrons section needs a citation;
Found a citation for "All fighter squadrons are headed by a Commanding Officer with the rank of Wing Commander." Couldn't find one for "Some Transport squadrons and Helicopter Units are headed by a Commanding Officer with the rank of Group Captain." --Gremaldin (talk) 10:21, 7 July 2010 (UTC)
  • the last sentence in the Garud Commando Force section needs a citation;
Yes check.svg Done Unvarifiable. Sumanch (talk) 02:46, 6 July 2010 (UTC)
  • in the IAF personnel section this should be fixed "[[F H MAJOR]" - I think this is meant to be a wikilink, can you please fix the capitalisation?

Yes check.svg DoneSumanch (talk) 23:08, 5 July 2010 (UTC)

  • the last part of the Officers subsection needs a citation: "The IAF selects candidates for officer training from these applicants. After completion of training, candidate are commissioned as Flying Officers";
Yes check.svg DoneSumanch (talk) 23:29, 5 July 2010 (UTC)
  • the Non Combatants Enrolled and civilians section needs a citation;
Yes check.svg Done Sumanch (talk) 00:47, 7 July 2010 (UTC)
  • the last sentence in the Airborne Early Warning aircraft section needs a citation;
Yes check.svg Done --Gremaldin (talk) 04:48, 6 July 2010 (UTC)
  • the last part of the Transport section needs a citation;
Yes check.svg Done --Gremaldin (talk) 05:32, 6 July 2010 (UTC)
  • the last part of the Tanker aircraft section needs a citation;
Yes check.svg Done --Gremaldin (talk) 05:49, 7 July 2010 (UTC)
  • the last part of the Training aircraft section needs a citation;
Yes check.svg Done --Gremaldin (talk) 05:48, 6 July 2010 (UTC)
  • the Helicopters section needs a citation;
Yes check.svg Done --Gremaldin (talk) 05:44, 7 July 2010 (UTC)
  • in the Footnotes section, some of your web citations are just bare urls (e.g. Citation # 84, 85, 86, 88, 89, 90 - these should be formatted as the others are with the {{cite web}} template.
Yes check.svg Done --Gremaldin (talk) 03:53, 6 July 2010 (UTC)

Good work so far and good luck with improving the article. Cheers. AustralianRupert (talk) 13:09, 5 July 2010 (UTC)

Sumanch[edit]

Need some clarification of this usage policy for images.
Material featured on this site may be reproduced free of charge in any format or media without requiring specific permission. This is subject to the material being reproduced accurately and not being used in a derogatory manner or in a misleading context. Where the material is being published or issued to others, the source must be prominently acknowledged. However, the permission to reproduce this material does not extend to any material on this site, which is explicitly identified as being the copyright of a third party. Authorisation to reproduce such material must be obtained from the copyright holders concerned. - Indian Air Force - Usage Policy Sumanch (talk) 21:49, 5 July 2010 (UTC)

Sounds like the IAF maintains the copyright but the images can be used with a Fair use rationale. In terms of Wikipedia's image policy, this means basically that you need to be certain that you can't find a free (or non copyrighted) image to replace it. If a free image is available (i.e. one that's in the public domain), or it is reasonable that one might exist, then you can't use a copyrighted image with a claim of fair use. That's my take, but I might be wrong. This might help: Wikipedia:Non-free content. Anyone, please correct me if I am wrong. Cheers. AustralianRupert (talk) 10:40, 7 July 2010 (UTC)

Kirk[edit]

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I couldn't find any other articles about an Air Force which are FA (or A) quality for comparison. The United States Marine Corps is FA, so its probably a better template than the RAF article; in comparison to the structure to the USMC and USAF articles:

  • mission section is just a paragraph instead of having multiple subsections
Romanian Land Forces is a GA and it has a similar mission section.Sumanch (talk) 16:07, 10 July 2010 (UTC)
If you think that section meets A or FA quality, be my guest and use it, but I certainly don't. Also, Australian Defence Force is another FA article you can look at which has a different structure. Kirk (talk) 14:50, 13 July 2010 (UTC)

Yes check.svg Done --Gremaldin (talk) 13:22, 31 July 2010 (UTC)

  • history section should have subsections
It used to have one. But this new structure was advised in the previous peer review.Sumanch (talk) 16:07, 10 July 2010 (UTC)
I scanned your review and I didn't notice that anywhere other than a desire for the article to be shorter in this section. Look at the United States Marine Corps article and the History article. The USMC article has some high level subheadings in the History section which summarize mutltiple sections in the USMC History Article. Origins, Partition of India, Summary of conflict 1961-1971 (I don't know what to call this), etc. would make it easier to read. Kirk (talk) 14:50, 13 July 2010 (UTC)
I divided the history section into subsections in my sandbox. I will wait for opinions before applying the changes to the main page. --Gremaldin (talk) 12:23, 14 July 2010 (UTC)

Yes check.svg Done --Gremaldin (talk) 09:35, 17 July 2010 (UTC)

  • personnel include 'the IAF', which probably isn't needed, and probably should use the same sub-sections as USAF: consider adding training, awards and uniform. The USMC article has uniform in a separate section.
Added a training susection. --Gremaldin (talk) 15:38, 1 August 2010 (UTC)
  • My understanding is Junior Commissioned Officer is a Indian Army term; I think the proper term in the IAF is Warrant Officer. Its distinct enough it probably should have its own subsection to explain why the IAF has Warrant officers when the Indian Army has Junior Commissioned Officers.
Junior Commissioned Officer is a rank category. The Warrant officers in the IAF, Subedars in the Army, and Petty Officers in the Navy fall in this category. The category of JCO was created by the british because at that time Indians were not allowed to be an officer. Sumanch (talk) 16:07, 10 July 2010 (UTC)
I know what you are saying, but you need to back that up with a reference and its probably only worthwhile as a footnote. Just looking over the IAF website, I can't find any reference to Junior Comissioned Officers, so I'd remove that subheading on the table with Junior Commissioned Officers and Enlisted. Example: [2] Kirk (talk) 14:50, 13 July 2010 (UTC)
  • Structure or Organization; seems to me organization is better since that's what the USMC article uses. And why does Aerospace command get its own section?
It is a work in progress. Right now we are open to suggestions. Sumanch (talk) 16:07, 10 July 2010 (UTC)
Made Integrated Space Cell a subsection of the Structure section. --Gremaldin (talk) 16:11, 1 August 2010 (UTC)
  • The future section is mostly a bullet list...not sure I recall seeing that in a FA article before. Note both USAF and USMC article have a culture section.

Yes check.svg Done Converted it into prose. --Gremaldin (talk) 10:40, 14 July 2010 (UTC)

  • The USMC article doesn't have a very detailed equipment section, i've noticed most air force articles devote a lot of space to detailing each aircraft in use, which probably isn't in line with WP:SUMMARY

Yes check.svg Done Made the "aircraft inventory" section much more concise and comprehensive. --Gremaldin (talk) 10:40, 14 July 2010 (UTC)

  • The info box could more stuff in there, but this seems to vary widely between Air Force articles. Maybe add engagements, I would guess the commander section could be more extensive, the personnel section could be more detailed with active, reserve, guard numbers.
No, I think over-corwding the infobox creates distraction. Infobox should contain only the absolutely need to know and nothing more. USMC infobox is a bad example. Sumanch (talk) 16:12, 10 July 2010 (UTC)
I'm not sure why its a bad example, I guess you don't think its an FA article? Also, I'd like to know how many personnel are active vs reserve, but the article doesn't contain that information & it would be nice in the infobox. Kirk (talk) 14:50, 13 July 2010 (UTC)
Added engagements. --Gremaldin (talk) 13:23, 31 July 2010 (UTC)
Added the Vice chief of air staff under the commander section. --Gremaldin (talk) 15:20, 1 August 2010 (UTC)

This is just high level stuff, hope this helps! Kirk (talk) 15:58, 8 July 2010 (UTC)

Shringi Rishi[edit]

This article needs to be peer-reviewed for containing a disputed section titled "Shringi Rishi's rebirth (as Krishna Dutt Ji Maharaj) in recent years" which makes reincarnation claims for mythological Shringi Rishi whose name appears in connection with Ramayana, as stated in the first section of this page. The claims are made as if these are proven facts with a seemingly obvious propagandist tendency. The article even contains self-promotional links right in the middle of the article. An apparent attempt to make the article more neutral in the form of adding a para of views in conflict with those making reincarnation claims, although equally unsubstantiated by authentic reference sources, was later edited by the propagandists and tagged as comment with its answer included there. Usually, a conflicting opinion is not to be tagged as comment in the article. Talk page should be used to discuss any issues. The section making reincarnation claims seemingly requires to be removed but it is better if peers make their own unbiased assessment. --MazeOfThoughts (talk) 04:47, 20 April 2009 (UTC)

MazeOfThoughts, You are absolutely right. I have removed the section citing the same reasons. I have also suggested a merge with Rishyasringa. Shringi Rishi and Rishyasringa are same.--Redtigerxyz Talk 04:57, 7 May 2009 (UTC)
Thanks for taking appropriate action, if you are sure that Rishyashringa and Shringi Rishi are same, I think it is only logical to merge the pages.--MazeOfThoughts (talk) 21:18, 7 May 2009 (UTC)

Asaram Bapu[edit]

The article apparently does not cite any third-part references to support the biographical assertions made therein and there is a lack of neutrality in the tone of the article. Describing a self-proclaimed saint as a self-realized saint can only be termed as an exaggeration. Still, that is my opinion. But in other areas too, instead of stating that he is "claimed" to have gained spiritual powers by meditation etc. it clearly says that he "did" attain spiritual powers which is not a neutral description in any way. In my view, describing these ideas in a neutral way won't take away anything from the significance of the person, if he has any. Self-sourced biographical assertions can also not be relied upon and additionally, I wonder, why is there no mention of the contra-claims and scandals surrounding the new-age guru where people have questioned his activities and Ashram also came under scrutiny for some criminal activities. This article either needs to be completely removed for total lack of neutrality and no verifiability of facts or needs to be thoroughly revamped to make it look more neutral and factual. --MazeOfThoughts (talk) 05:26, 22 April 2009 (UTC)

Bhekuli Biya[edit]

Would appreciate advice on how to proceed in improvement of this article.

Judicatus | Talk | Contributions

08:55, 1 April 2009 (UTC)

Panchanan Mitra[edit]

A new article which I have expanded and copy-edited. Although the subject is fairly ancient, there seem to be a good amount of sources about him, which has resulted in sufficient material to be added. Hope to bring this to a GA status perhaps. prashanthns (talk) 15:27, 5 March 2009 (UTC)

Vasudev Balwant Phadke[edit]

Need comments to check on POV issues as well as tips to improve the article. The intention is to achieve GA status. —Preceding unsigned comment added by Kedar Borhade (talkcontribs) 19:00, 19 January 2009 (UTC)

Pankh (film)[edit]

I want this article to be passed as a B-class article. "Legolas" (talk) 12:23, 12 January 2009 (UTC)

Raaz - The Mystery Continues[edit]

I want this article to be rated an A-class article. Please review it and let it be known your review comments at the talk page. "Legolas" (talk) 12:10, 12 January 2009 (UTC)

Bhaṭṭikāvya[edit]

This is my first article for Wikipedia, I would like some help to get it to featured article status. I also intend to contribute many more articles, so need to learn how to do it properly.
The article is based on the intro to my edition and translation of the Bhaṭṭikāvya[3] of which I am the copyright holder. It was written with the approval of the publisher (Clay Sanskrit Library[4]). The published work of the Clay Sanskrit Library is peer-reviewed.
opfallon (talk) 15:12, 6 January 2009 (UTC)

Redtigerxyz's comments:

  • More Citations needed
  • Please give more emphasis on facts, than opinions
  • Write about the chief subject of the poem: It writes about Ravana's death, what else, expand, how did he die, any background, after death. Is it covered.
  • Use Normal English spellings then IAST, WP:Featured Articles (wiki's best work) Ganesha uses Ganesha, NOT Ganeśa as Readers may not be aware of IAST format. --Redtigerxyz Talk 17:00, 7 January 2009 (UTC)

Thank you for your help Redtigerxyz. I will implement these improvements. The only one I'm doubtful about is the use of IAST. In my opinion it is preferable to use the full diacritics for rendering Sanskrit words, but i will experiment.opfallon (talk) 17:25, 7 January 2009 (UTC)
I've looked at the Ganesha page and I'm unclear about what principles are being applied with regard to IAST. Some words are given in IAST and others aren't. There are even variant spellings of Ganesh/Ganesha. Should i apply the tag to all Sanskrit words? Should I give an anglicises rendering in the first instance followed by IAST and then subsequently use IAST? opfallon (talk) 17:36, 7 January 2009 (UTC)
IMO, the following will be the most ideal format for key terms: Bhalachandra (IAST: bhālacandra; "Moon on the Forehead"), Ganapatya, (Sanskrit: गाणपत्य; gāṇapatya). I will prefer the way it is done in Ganesha. Render the normal English - anglicises spelling and IAST, then use the anglicises rendering throughout. Though IAST is frequently used in scholarly works, NOT everyone knows it (read "ONLY some know it), NOT in India, NOT in the world. Ganesha or Shiva is more familar than Ganeśa or Śiva, atleast in India. Before wiki (Researching for Hinduism articles), even I didn't know of it. --Redtigerxyz Talk 04:29, 8 January 2009 (UTC)
  • "one of the boldest experiments in classical literature" is an opinion, rather than a fact. The sentence gives a sense of hyperbole. The lead sentence should be some thing like "Bhaṭṭikāvya is a ____ th century Sanskrit poem/text by Bhatti, (about) _____" In analysis of the poem, one can have statements like ""one of the boldest experiments in classical literature, according to _____". (ref) --Redtigerxyz Talk 04:55, 8 January 2009 (UTC)

S. A. Dange[edit]

I wish to take this article to FL class. I would really aprreciate your comments.Weblogan (talk) 08:06, 18 October 2008 (UTC)

List of Governors of Tamil Nadu[edit]

I would like to take this to FL. I would really appreciate your comments on how to further improve it. Thanks, Ganeshk (talk) 01:33, 19 September 2008 (UTC)


Nishant_shobhit[edit]

Ganesh, here are some suggestions

> Like all states, the governor is a nominal head and representative of the President of India. He or she is appointed by the president for a five year term

  • Why don't you link this to the federal system in the Indian government. Readers can immediately learn about the state-central system in the country.
  • We need citations for governing spans for each of the governors.
  • I'm sure there must be photographs of S.S. Barnala available under CC.

Nishant shobhit (talk) 21:27, 23 October 2010 (UTC)

Vijayawada[edit]

This article has never been peer-reviewed. It needs reviewing and also deserves B-Class rating, but it has been assessed as Start-Class (probably two or three years back). I also request to re-access the article.

Vijay Sai (talk) 08:50, 25 July 2008 (UTC)

Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) People's War[edit]

I just went over this article, from virtually nothing to add a whole lot of info + references, which didn't exist before. I also added an infobox for better/easier navigation. I was wondering if someone could review this? Thanks, Lihaas (talk) 15:50, 14 July 2008 (UTC)


I will add a standard response.

  • This article lacks inline citation, three isn't enough. For example, a citation is needed right after The party was founded in Andhra Pradesh in 1980, another one right after development out of Central Organizing Committee, CPI(ML) (which had been dissolved in 1977), etc. etc. Per manual of style, don't tell something, show it! So to show something, you need to cite it from somewhere(ofcourse from somewhere reputable).
  • Lead — Lead of the article is not an introduction to the article but it is a summary of the article. It is like when you read an article in a journal, it has an abstract which summerises the article.

Hope that helps. Sumanch (talk) 23:57, 25 April 2009 (UTC)

List of Indian states by the etymology of their name [edit]

People, I created this list a while back. A similar list for the US states has been a featured article. How can we bring this to that level ? I am invariant under co-ordinate transformations (talk) 02:53, 8 July 2008 (UTC)

India House[edit]

I wish to have this article peer review for language, spelling, NPOV, structure and scope and improve this, as far a possible, to FA status since I wish to nominate it once review is done.

Thanks, rueben_lys (talk · contribs) 19:36, 1 July 2008 (UTC)

DLF Universal Limited[edit]

This company was just featured on CNBC, so I looked at the page, only to find an advertisment competing with a political slant. Phlegm Rooster (talk) 04:13, 30 June 2008 (UTC)


  • Introduction needs to be trimmed down. too much text. Provide references to facts like "DLF, is India's largest real estate developer based in New Delhi, India." or policy statements like "the government assumed the control of real estate development activities in Delhi and the role of private real estate developers was restricted". Too many statements made as facts without prorper references
  • Recent History? Rephrase with a clearer title
  • Developments and Joint Ventures sections have a lot of NPOV issues. What is definition of "high quality residential, office and retail properties"? These sections sounds like a advertisement for DLF
  • Provide references to statements made throughout the sections.
  • Non existant or fictional stuff bring down quality of the article, "Together DLF-Laing O' Rourke shall build the expressways, ports and other megastructures of India's new economy."

--Kedar (talk) 06:40, 21 January 2009 (UTC)

Foreign relations of India[edit]

I have restructured the whole article and added some countries & international organisations. So I am requesting for peer review so that it can be improved to a featured article.

Vijay Sai (talk) 12:06, 29 June 2008 (UTC)

Valparai[edit]

Blocks of text on "History of Valparai" alongwith some texts were removed in accordance with Neutrality, Verifiability and NOR issues. Also, more reliable sources, such as newspaper articles and information form government departments have been added with references.Dilli2040 (talk) 04:29, 5 June 2008 (UTC)

Faruqi dynasty[edit]

I believe the peer review will help in improving the style, reference and presentation of the article.Joy1963 (talk) 13:35, 26 May 2008 (UTC)

S. Kumarasamy[edit]

I honestly beleive that a good Peer review will furthermore improve this article. --Logic riches (talk) 14:48, 20 May 2008 (UTC)

Hemu[edit]

This article has a lot of POV issues. Can anyone check them? Salilb (talk) 12:18, 20 May 2008 (UTC)

ICFAI[edit]

Hi, I have re-written the article and tried to cover the different entities under the ICFAI umbrella. Also tried to cover the grievances aired by a lot of students against Icfai, specifically the regarding DLP. Would like to get a comment on the same. Thanks. Shovon (talk) 10:18, 7 May 2008 (UTC)

Uttar Pradesh Technical University[edit]

This article now has more matter than a stub-class article. deltaG (talk) 12:52, 20 December 2007 (UTC)

Kerala High Court[edit]

For the greater benefit of all Wikipedians, I feel that this article has undergo a peer review... Adv. Ranjith Xavier (talk) 09:01, 11 December 2007 (UTC) Attokaran

The Great Indian Novel[edit]

This is an important novel in historical, satirical, literary, and political terms. The article lay dormant for a long time and I've tried to give it some meat. However, it is a very complex and at times subtle satire. Editors should in particular pay attention to allusions and connections that have been missed. The tables of character, place, event connections should also be worked on. Acsenray (talk) 17:08, 6 December 2007 (UTC)

Anand (2004 film)[edit]

This article (currently B-class) has been substantially developed over the past couple of weeks by me. I'd love critique from my fellow-editors so that I can bring it further up on quality. Regards, Mspraveen 08:12, 13 October 2007 (UTC)

Historical definitions of races in India[edit]

Various fringe views are being aired, and more input/review from Indian editors would be helpful. --JWB 08:17, 12 October 2007 (UTC)

Dravidian people[edit]

Various fringe views are being aired, and more input/review from Indian editors would be helpful. --JWB 08:17, 12 October 2007 (UTC)

North South Foundation[edit]

I think this should be nominated because we as a community have worked hard to make it a nice article from a 2-4 sentence stub. Whaatt 19:30, 30 September 2007 (UTC)

Tata Elxsi[edit]

It would be very helpful if someone peer-review this article. Kiran Nair 12:01, 31 July 2007 (UTC)

Krishna Institute of Engineering and Technology[edit]

The article is now B class. Please help improve its level --deltaG 20:13, 08 July 2007 (UTC)

Combined Defence Services Examination[edit]

i created this page with the intention of providing info to the aspirants who wish get into the armed forces....i would like to know about what the fellow wikipedians think of it.... Gprince007 15:00, 15 April 2007 (UTC)

Union Public Service Commission[edit]

i feel that a peer review will help us improve this page and make it more informative...constructive criticisms welcome ... Gprince007 14:52, 15 April 2007 (UTC)

  • This Article does not have a single line citation.
  • Lead should be a summary of the entrie article. My opinion is, read the lead sentence by sentence and write a few lines in the article body on the facts stated. Or visa versa.Sumanch (talk) 23:03, 24 April 2009 (UTC)

Wikipedia:WikiProject India/Peer review/Bureau of Energy Efficiency

Chhath[edit]

The articles has been considerably wikified by:

  • restructuring as per holiday template
  • complete holiday infobox
  • addition of relevant references and citation
  • extensive copy-editing.

Please review this article. I am primarily interested in identifying the areas of improvement for this article. Myaoon (talk) 20:18, 20 April 2010 (UTC)

Kismat (1968 film)[edit]

This is my first article in Wikipedia. I would like your feedback and comments on the article so that I can improve it further. Also do let me know what would be the current article be categorized under (Quality wise - stub or good or any other)? Any kind of feedback is welcome for me to improve the article.

Shadow7777 (talk) 18:58, 15 September 2011 (UTC)

Kuvempu University[edit]

This is an university article and should be peer reviewed to know the progress made. And needs substantial improvement as well as provide the right category.

--Kkm010* ۩ ۞ 14:33, 19 February 2012 (UTC) Wikipedia:WikiProject India/Peer review/Kuvempu University Wikipedia:WikiProject India/Peer review/List of newspapers in India by circulation Stuti Saxena