November

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
This article is about the month. For other uses, see November (disambiguation).
01 02 03 04 05
06 07 08 09 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30  

November is the eleventh and penultimate month of the year in the Julian and Gregorian Calendars and the fourth and last month to have the length of 30 days. November was the ninth month of the ancient Roman calendar. November retained its name (from the Latin novem meaning "nine") when January and February were added to the Roman calendar. November is a month of late-spring in the Southern Hemisphere and late-autumn in the Northern Hemisphere. Therefore, November in the Southern Hemisphere is the seasonal equivalent of May in the Northern Hemisphere and vice versa. In Ancient Rome, Ludi Plebeii was held from November 4–17, Epulum Jovis was held on November 13, and Brumalia celebrations began on November 24. These dates do not correspond to the modern Gregorian calendar.

November was referred to as Blōtmōnaþ by the Anglo-Saxons. Brumaire and Frimaire were the months on which November fell in the French Republican Calendar.

Astronomy[edit]

November meteor showers include the Andromedids; which occurs from September 25 to December 6 and generally peak around November 9-14, the Leonids; which occur from November 15-20, the Alpha Monocerotids; which occur from November 15-25 with the peak on November 21-22, the Northern Taurids; which occur from October 20 to December 10, and the Southern Taurids which occur from September 10 - November 20, and the Phoenicids; which occur from November 29 to December 9 with the peak occurring on December 5-6. The Orionids, which occur in late October, sometimes last into November.

Astrology[edit]

The Western zodiac signs for the month of November are Scorpio (October 23-November 21) and Sagittarius (November 21 – December 21).

November symbols[edit]

  • November's birthstones are the topaz (particularly, yellow) which symbolizes friendship and the citrine.
  • Its birth flower is the chrysanthemum.[1]

November Observances[edit]

This list does not necessarily imply either official status or general observance.

Non-Gregorian observances[edit]

(please note that all Jewish observances, which are set by the Hebrew calendar, begin at sunset the day prior to the date listed and end on the sunset of the date in question unless otherwise noted. The same applies to observances set by the Bahá'í calendar)

Month-long observances[edit]

United States[edit]

Movable observances, 2016 dates[edit]

First Thursday: November 1

First Friday: November 5

Saturday between October 31-November 6: November 5

First Saturday: November 5

Week of November 8: November 6-12

First Sunday: November 6

First Monday: November 7

Tuesday after the first Monday: November 8

Second Thursday: November 10

Week of November 11: November 6–12

Second Saturday: November 12

Second Sunday: November 13

Third Week: November 13–19

Second Monday: November 14

Third Week in November: 13-19

Third Tuesday: November 15

Third Thursday: November 17

Third Friday until the next Monday: November 18–21

Saturday before Fourth Thursday: November 19

Week of the fourth Thursday: November 20–26

Third Sunday: November 20

Third Monday: November 21

Day before fourth Thursday: November 23

Fourth Thursday: November 24

Day after fourth Thursday: November 25

Saturday after Thanksgiving: November 26

Fourth Saturday: November 26

Fourth Sunday: November 27

Last Sunday: November 27

Monday immediately following fourth Thursday: November 28

Tuesday immediately following fourth Thursday: November 29

Last Wednesday: November 30

Last Week: November 21-Dec 1

Fixed observances[edit]

American Thanksgiving is celebrated in November

References[edit]