87th Academy Awards

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
87th Academy Awards
Date February 22, 2015
Site Dolby Theatre
Hollywood, Los Angeles, California, U.S.
Host Neil Patrick Harris
Producer Neil Meron
Craig Zadan[1]
Director Hamish Hamilton[2]
Highlights
Most nominations Birdman and The Grand Budapest Hotel (9)
TV in the United States
Network ABC
 < 86th Academy Awards  

The 87th Academy Awards ceremony, presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS), will honor the best films of 2014 and will take place February 22, 2015, at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, Los Angeles beginning at 5:30 p.m. PST / 8:30 p.m. EST.[3] During the ceremony, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences presented Academy Awards (commonly referred to as Oscars) in 24 categories. The ceremony, televised in the United States by ABC, will be produced by Neil Meron and Craig Zadan and directed by Hamish Hamilton. Actor Neil Patrick Harris is scheduled to host the ceremony for the first time.[4]

In related events, the Academy held its 6th annual Governors Awards ceremony at the Grand Ballroom of the Hollywood and Highland Center on November 8, 2014.[5] On February 7, 2015, in a ceremony at The Beverly Hills Hotel in Beverly Hills, California, the Academy Awards for Technical Achievement will be presented by hosts Margot Robbie and Miles Teller.[6]

Nominees[edit]

Actor Chris Pine and Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs at the 87th Oscars Nominations Announcement
Directors J.J. Abrams and Alfonso Cuarón at the 87th Oscars Nominations Announcement

The nominees for the 87th Academy Awards were announced on January 15, 2015, at 5:38 a.m. PST (13:38 UTC), at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills, California, by Cheryl Boone Isaacs, president of the Academy, directors J. J. Abrams and Alfonso Cuarón, and actor Chris Pine.[7][8] Birdman and The Grand Budapest Hotel tied for the most nominations with nine each.[9]

Awards[edit]

Honorary Academy Awards[edit]

The Academy held its 6th Annual Governors Awards ceremony on November 8, 2014, during which the following awards were presented.[5][10][11]

Academy Honorary Awards[edit]

Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award[edit]

Films with multiple nominations[edit]

Presenters and performers[edit]

Performers[edit]

Name(s) Role Performed
Ross, WilliamWilliam Ross Musical Arranger
Conductor
Orchestral
Patrick Harris, NeilNeil Patrick Harris Performer "Moving Pictures" during the opening segment[12]
Adam Levine Performer "Lost Stars" from Begin Again[13]
John Legend
Common
Performers "Glory" from Selma
Rita Ora Performer "Grateful" from Beyond the Lights[14]

Ceremony information[edit]

Schedule[edit]

Date[15] Event
Saturday, November 8, 2014 The Governors Awards
Wednesday, December 3, 2014 Screen credits and music submissions due
Monday, December 29, 2014 Nominations voting begins 8:00 a.m. PST (11:00 a.m. EST)
Thursday, January 8, 2015 Nominations voting ends 5:00 p.m. PST (8:00 p.m. EST)
Thursday, January 15, 2015 Nominations announced 5:30 a.m. PST (8:30 a.m. EST)
Monday, February 2, 2015 Nominees luncheon
Friday, February 6, 2015 Final voting begins 8:00 a.m. PST (11:00 a.m. EST)
Saturday, February 7, 2015 Scientific and Technical Awards
Tuesday, February 17, 2015 Final voting ends 5:00 p.m. PST (8:00 p.m. EST)
Sunday, February 22, 2015 Ceremony begins 4:00 p.m. PST (7:00 p.m. EST)

Criticism[edit]

There has been criticism of the predominantly white Oscar nominees and in other fields of nominees alike. For the third time since 1995, the 20 Academy Award acting nominations were only for white actors and actresses. The first was in 1998 and second was in 2011.[16] David Sims of The Atlantic states "the surprising coolness towards Martin Luther King, Jr. biopic Selma—nominated for Best Picture but missing in the Director, Actor, and Original Screenplay categories—with the fact that all 20 acting nominees this year are white, the first time such a thing has happened since the Oscars honoring the films of 1995."[17] The Guardian columnist Bidisha also notes the overwhelmingly white nominee list while also discussing the fact that "every nominated best director, screenwriter, screenplay adapter and original score composer is a white man,"[18] additionally suggesting that there is an inherent lack of female representation in the Oscars this year beyond the Best Actress and Best Supporting Actress categories. Selma was directed by Ava DuVernay, herself an African-American female. However, Best Director nominee Alejandro González Iñárritu is Latino. Additionally, all of the screenwriters for Birdman are Latino as well.

In response to criticism about lack of diversity, Cheryl Boone Isaacs, the president of the Film Academy, stated that “in the last two years, we’ve made greater strides than we ever have in the past toward becoming a more diverse and inclusive organization through admitting new members and more inclusive classes of members. And, personally, I would love to see and look forward to see a greater cultural diversity among all our nominees in all of our categories.”[19] She refrained from commenting on whether the Academy was embarrassed about the lack of diversity, but stated that she was proud of all the nominees.[20]

See also[edit]

References[edit]

  1. ^ "Craig Zadan And Neil Meron Return To Produce The 2015 Oscars®". The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Retrieved May 9, 2014. 
  2. ^ "Oscars 2015 production team". Deadline. Retrieved November 26, 2014. 
  3. ^ "The Academy Selects 2014 and 2015 Show Dates". The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Retrieved May 6, 2014. 
  4. ^ Gray, Tim (October 15, 2014). "Neil Patrick Harris to Host the Oscars". Variety. Retrieved October 15, 2014. 
  5. ^ a b "Academy Unveils 2014 Governors Awards Recipients". Variety. Retrieved September 1, 2014. 
  6. ^ "Margot Robbie, Miles Teller to hand out Sci-Tech Oscars". Entertainment Weekly. January 28, 2015. Retrieved January 29, 2015. 
  7. ^ "Oscars: Why Academy Decided To Announce All 24 Category Nominees". Deadline. January 9, 2015. 
  8. ^ "Oscar nominations 2015: live". Guardian. January 15, 2015. Retrieved January 15, 2015. 
  9. ^ a b "Birdman and The Grand Budapest Hotel lead Oscars race". BBC News. January 15, 2015. Retrieved January 16, 2015. 
  10. ^ "Honorary Oscars presented to Harry Belafonte, Maureen O'Hara, Hayao Miyazaki". CBS News. Retrieved November 9, 2014. 
  11. ^ "Harry Belafonte, Hayao Miyazaki, Maureen O’Hara to get honorary Oscars". Entertainment Weekly. Retrieved August 28, 2014. 
  12. ^ "Oscars ceremony enlists ‘Frozen’ songwriting team for a Neil Patrick Harris number". Entertainment Weekly. January 27, 2015. Retrieved January 27, 2015. 
  13. ^ "Adam Levine Performing Oscar-Nominated ‘Begin Again’ Track at Oscars". The Wrap. January 27, 2015. Retrieved January 27, 2015. 
  14. ^ "Brit Phenom Rita Ora To Perform At The Oscars®". Oscar.com. January 28, 2015. Retrieved January 28, 2015. 
  15. ^ "Academy Announces Key Dates for the Oscars". Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Retrieved November 26, 2014. 
  16. ^ Tatiana Siegel (January 15, 2014). "Oscars: Acting Nominees All White". The Hollywood Reporter. Retrieved January 17, 2015. 
  17. ^ David Sims (January 15, 2015). "The Oscars Haven't Been This White in 19 Years". The Atlantic. 
  18. ^ Bidisha. "The Oscars celebrates white men. What about the rest of us?". the Guardian. 
  19. ^ Sam Frizell. "Film Academy President Wants Greater Cultural Diversity". TIME.com. 
  20. ^ "Academy Awards President on Lack of Diversity in Oscars 2015 : People.com". PEOPLE.com. 

External links[edit]

Official websites
Other resources