September 2008 in sports

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search
01 02 03 04 05 06
07 08 09 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30  

Deaths[edit]

Current sporting seasons[edit]

30 September 2008 (Tuesday)[edit]

29 September 2008 (Monday)[edit]

28 September 2008 (Sunday)[edit]

Bye week: Detroit Lions, Indianapolis Colts, Miami Dolphins, New England Patriots, New York Giants, Seattle Seahawks.

27 September 2008 (Saturday)[edit]

26 September 2008 (Friday)[edit]

25 September 2008 (Thursday)[edit]

24 September 2008 (Wednesday)[edit]

23 September 2008 (Thursday)[edit]

22 September 2008 (Monday)[edit]

21 September 2008 (Sunday)[edit]

20 September 2008 (Saturday)[edit]

19 September 2008 (Friday)[edit]

18 September 2008 (Thursday)[edit]

17 September 2008 (Wednesday)[edit]

16 September 2008 (Tuesday)[edit]

15 September 2008 (Monday)[edit]

14 September 2008 (Sunday)[edit]

Bye week: Houston Texans, Baltimore Ravens.

13 September 2008 (Saturday)[edit]

12 September 2008 (Friday)[edit]

11 September 2008 (Thursday)[edit]

10 September 2008 (Wednesday)[edit]

9 September 2008 (Tuesday)[edit]

8 September 2008 (Monday)[edit]

7 September 2008 (Sunday)[edit]

6 September 2008 (Saturday)[edit]

5 September 2008 (Friday)[edit]

United States Bob Bryan / United States Mike Bryan def. Czech Republic Lukáš Dlouhý / India Leander Paes, 7–6(5), 7–6(10)

4 September 2008 (Thursday)[edit]

Zimbabwe Cara Black / India Leander Paes def. United States Liezel Huber / United Kingdom Jamie Murray, 7–6(6), 6–4

3 September 2008 (Wednesday)[edit]

2 September 2008 (Tuesday)[edit]

1 September 2008 (Monday)[edit]

  • Football (soccer): An astonishing last day of the summer transfer window in the Premier League:
    • It is announced that the Abu Dhabi United Group, an investment vehicle of the Abu Dhabi royal family, have agreed to buy Manchester City F.C. from former Thai Prime Minister Thaksin Shinawatra for approximately £200 million, and have made an unlimited amount of money available to make City one of the leading teams in the Premiership.
    • Manchester City then agree a deal with Tottenham Hotspur to sign Bulgarian striker Dimitar Berbatov for a fee of over £30 million. Berbatov, however, had always made it plain that he wished to sign for Manchester United in order to play in the Champions League, and he did so at the end of the day for a record fee of £30.75 million.
    • City then succeeded in signing Robinho from Real Madrid for a new record 42 million (£32.5 million) — as recently as Sunday it was expected that Robinho would sign for Chelsea, but relations between Madrid and the London club cooled markedly. [1] [2]

References[edit]